The waters of Tyne.

The first post of two thousand and twenty-two nearly remained unwritten. Slowly over the years, the feedback has dried up and I question the efficacy of pouring one’s heart out into a void. The world of Covid hysteria and the end of freedom of movement has shaken my foundations and almost destroyed the seamless adventuring to which I have become accustomed over these past years.

Fighting spirit, crossing from Denmark to Germany in 2021.

Returning to the river of my childhood has left me fractious and filled with a sense of doom. This country has become a fear-filled, sordid, suspicious place full of denial and simmering rage with a majority of folk succumbing unquestioningly to blatant propaganda from a bought and paid for mainstream media and bent politicians who have made small fortunes by investing and speculating on Big Pharma medical practices. Any opposition or questioning of this wave of ignorance is met with sloganeering and ridicule. People seem to have taken leave of their senses, and those who control us have managed to split us right down the middle. I’ve rarely seen a more desperately unhappy country.

Recently, a few folk have asked me when I will publish another post. I had considered wrapping the blog up, after all, the average attention span these days is diminutive at best; however, there are beautiful souls out there who have crossed my wake before now, and they are worth the effort. This is for you, my loyal friends.

Approaching the Tyne after two days at sea.

St Peters Marina has been my home since arriving in the Tyne last September and I have joined an interesting community of characters, mainly local. My original plan had been to winter in Inverness but that proved to be one step too far after an horrendous crossing of the North Sea, still smarting from my accident in the German Bight. I was shattered, so much so, that I have decided to spent another year licking my wounds and tending my poor old sailing boat, ‘Free’.


The world is changing so fast and I remain convinced that the forces of evil are firmly in control. The cost of fuel has accelerated to the point where I will not be able to leave the Tyne in the foreseeable future. Society is dancing to the tune of malevolence and I sense that we are being guided into a cashless, social credit type system along the lines of the Chinese model. Freedom could well become a thing of the past, a hazy, carefree time of free-spirited bliss. I feel the suffocating wall of nanny statism and health and safety culture closing down around us. What will become of the old adventurers now? These times are not sitting well with me; I have often felt that I was born a hundred years too late. A friend of mine suggested ‘a thousand’, and he may be correct!

My childhood town, South Shields on the left as ‘Free’ begins her River Tyne passage up to St Peter’s Marina.

What a wonderful life I have had since rejecting the rat race back in two thousand and six! I have so much gratitude for the beautiful (and not so beautiful) places that have graced my keel, throughout Europe and the British Isles. The list of incredible experiences and people will for ever be written in my heart.

Wanderlust defines my very being, and as long as I feel it, the wind will take me. My traveller blood, albeit small, seems to define my spirit. I find it so difficult to stay anywhere for very long; so recently I bought a wee camper van, a Mazda Bongo, to enable me to escape into the wilds of Northumbria and the occasional return to Scotland. The huge expense has left me reeling, unfortunately. I have been away from vehicle ownership for so long that I had no idea how much prices have risen , nevertheless, I did manage to return to Scotland for a wee sojourn, and visiting some old pals.

Near Dunure, on the Ayrshire Coast with ‘Romy’ my camper-van.

That brings me to the end of my first post of two thousand and twenty-two, the strangest of years, as we leap from one episode to another; the so-called pandemic, then a rather convenient war in the Ukraine, in which no one seems to be interested in peace. Am I the only one who feels we are being played? To be quite honest I am almost past caring. If folk are happy to to be lied to, disrespected and have their freedoms and human rights removed, well so be it. But please don’t start whining and complaining down the line when the world that so took for granted is no longer open for you.

Freedoms are hard won, taking years of bloodshed, courage and toil to realise, but alas, so easy to lose…

Is that where we are going?

26 Comments

  1. So nice to hear from you again. Looking forward to your next post. /Lasse from the Swedish westcoast

  2. Lovely pop up from you, madness all around with events all around the world with prices on everything going sky high. Food and fuel. Enjoy the summer and coffee stops. Take care x

      1. Don’t listen to news anymore or read papers so many lies going on, dreading winter re fuel costs for winter, feels. Like going back in time be wearing our coats to bed, now have monkey pox in uk and trying to scare people. Keep safe your end of the world. Don’t stop writing it’s something that you love and brings joy to others who read it.

      2. You are very wise. I’m a compulsive writer, as you know. Thanks for the encouragement and stay free and happy.

  3. Love and light to you poppy…it’s our world not the suits that right the rules or take as much money as they can get from the brainwashed human empire ..we arrive ,we live we depart…it’s our own story….our minds r free…forever…XXX

  4. About 4 o’clock in the morning, today, when a little storm went through this little harbour, a awakend and thought “what about the Wiking Queen. What is seh doing. How is she. Could it be, she is on land? Working in a job? She will be getting ill living in this today-so-great-and free Britain.”
    Thank You for Your post. Please don’t end Your blog. Hurting, to read Your so melancholic thoughts. But how to make You more optimistic? Difficult enough not to lose contenance by myself.
    But I don’t understand: you are not on sea, heading wherever?
    I am reparing my boat till june. Then sailing direction may be norway. Or Sweden. Will see.
    I think of You. Best best wishes. Thomas/SY Rosebud from Freest, Bootswerft, thinking of hours sitting on quai in Sandhamn

    1. Thomas! I’m so sorry to miss you after Sandhamn! I always thought that we were destined to meet again, and were it not for Covid, I would have stayed in Germany, as I became a resident. I couldn’t stand the ridiculous lockdowns, masks and vaccines. It is not my way to live like this. ‘Little Britain’ despite its arrogance, still has some fiery opposition to medical fascism and I had no alternative but to return. How I miss the Baltic though. I felt a special connection to you, Thomas. Don’t worry, although my words are melancholy, I am not. Far from it, there is fire in my heart and deep meditation to keep me connected to the source. I hope you are well, and that we stay connected. I will not forget you.

    1. So lovely to hear from you, James! I had a feeling that you’d ‘abandoned ship’ and I don’t blame you. Departure certainly won’t harm you and is a boost for mental health. I’m still there, but strictly avoiding stressful interactions. I often think of you and the banter we had on all manner of subjects. I do hope we remain in contact, however tenuous. Wishing you all good things.

  5. Hi PoppyI always enjoy recieving your updates. I never have anything interesting happening to me to share but know I am a dedicated fan. Yes the pandemic has certainly mucked our lives up, and now we have Ukraine. I have become a recluse. Only venturing out to get food supplies or to pay a bill. I use to volinteer at a museum but got use to not going during the lockdown. It was and incentive to get up and walk and meet others. I spend alot of my time on Utube. You’d be excellent as a contributor and you get paid after you accumulate so many likes and subscriptions. I love watching the travel blogs, immigrant stories, tiny house living, car van bus and RV to home conversions.  Others include cooking and craft shows, gardening, home renovations, political commentary, I’m following some bloggers in Russia and Ukraine. Also do alot of chats with my friends. Did I ever tell you about my German friend who sold  sour dough bread at markets and I use to help her. Well when we had lockdown markets stopped, and I stopped going to their home too. I went to their house in November and they told me they were leaving. I think it was because they were opposed to vaxing even mask wearing, and the dad required them in his job and girl at school. I was so sad. But glad they were going to a place that would suit them. Near to parents and Sweden where you had enjoyed the company of such kind people and idyllic summers. They now have a beatiful home and even took their kiwi kat Kookie with them. She’s settling in, just hope there are no foxes about she only knows dogs and there weren’t many here where she lived. I do love your tenancy to keep on the move, even if it is on land. Stay safe and be wellArohanui Denise

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    1. Hi Denise. Good to near your update and I am sorry now the ‘pandemic’ has impinged upon your life and that of your friends. I don’t blame them for leaving. I will never submit to testing or masks. I believe the lockdowns and Big Pharma medical manipulation one of the biggest crimes ever perpetrated against humanity. Only time will tell just how much we have given to these evil people and their satanic greed and psychosis. I didn’t realise just how weak and gullible humanity has become, but I suppose it must have something to do with corporate television and media. I believe it has been coming for years, and I for one, am not surprised. Don’t play their game… Don’t be afraid. Keep the love in your heart against this cynical darkness.

  6. Loved reading this. I’m in Canada and I feel the tides rapidly turning too. Crazy times indeed. I’ve decided, I’ll take it one day at a time. I dream of sailing like you do, but I’m planted like a tree in this forest. Thank you for this post, it has a lot of truth in it.

    1. Hi Kat, thanks for the feedback. I think a forest might well be a good place to be! I do hope you visit again! Take care.

  7. The place my friends have bought their home is Oland. I am going to skim your Newsletters to see where you overwintered Free. I know its nit Oland

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    1. Nowhere near, but I know it well and have been there in 2013. Öland is very long and opposite Kalmar where I spent three weeks waiting out bad weather last year. It’s a hard place to sail.

  8. Dear Poppy,

    I love your blogs. Briefly we were both moored at Cadogan Pier. I don’t usually write anything as I feel unsure of what to write. The thought of not reading any again was too much. Take care. Els x

    1. It’s so lovely to hear from you and such a long time ago that I forgotten you and I must apologise! Could you jog my memory? Please don’t worry about replying if you don’t feel comfortable it is so good to know that there are folk who actually read what I’m writing. Take care. You have definitely reaffirmed the need to continue my writing!

  9. Hi Poppy. My names Dick Sheppard and I’m Els partner (Nordic Quest. Late of Cadogan Pier). I don’t think we’re ever met but I know of you and we have people in common. Happy to see your still roaming and all you say is true for me to. The bastards have control. However I’ve managed a good life so far for 76 years despite the bastards and I intend to continue. I know it’s a cliche but ‘don’t let the bastards grind you down’. I suspect you won’t. Best of luck. X

    1. Hi Dick! Ha ha, that made me chuckle! I’m glad there are still folk around who refuse to buy into this pish! I remember your boat and now Els, I think. It’s such a long time ago and tragic what happened to Cadogan Pier. The money people won again. They cannot own our hearts though. Stay free.

  10. Hello, Ms Majesty, your heartfelt words never fall into a void. Just like the sea is only a void to people who don’t sail, your adventures take life and flight because you pour your heart into them, and they grow wings. Your spirit landed here on deck, far out in vast stretches of the Pacific, where nature and humans are also struggling under the same pressures you describe. Perhaps unknown to you, we too thirst for a positive attitude, which your pictures, words, emotions, your vision, your adventures convey. You give us raw essentials to taste and absorb, to remain happy that we still are free, to live deeply, to set sail and to always move on. Steady as she goes. Merci.

    1. A nice surprise to get your encouraging feedback! Yes, my friend, freedom loving folk across the world are hearing the same music it seems. A great awakening is underway and one can only hope that we are not too late. The entropic forces of suffocating authority have ruled the roost for too long and they hold all the cards in their hand right now; however, sheer courage and heartfelt living must illuminate the creeping menace if we are to remain free. I send you good fortune and gratitude from these stormy islands.

Leave a comment