All you need is love…

From the title one can guess my whereabouts…

Of course, the home of the Beatles and my favourite city, Liverpool.

I had no intention of submitting a blog until I arrived at Liverpool Youth hostel, also my favourite after the demise of Notting Hill. I love this hostel, made special by its wonderful staff who have that unique Scouse hospitality by the bucketful.

A Scouse welcome.

A Scouse welcome.

The note above was lying on my bed on arrival and I was moved to tears. I simply had to write, especially as I try to live my life through the heart and follow the path of love. After the long journey from London it was like a homecoming and to find the note was extra special.

Once unpacked, it was time for a brisk walk through the city centre and up to the Central library, that haven of tranquility, a refuge for my imagination. The renewal of my temporary membership is a lifeline to the world of stories and friends on those other dimensions. Libraries are so valuable and their demise troubles many folk in these days of corporate profit. What can compare with the pleasure of disappearing into another world, that of the compelling novel?

Central Library, a haven of tranquility.

Central Library, a haven of tranquility.

Christmas seems to begin earlier every year and that was evident as I sipped my Christmas Blend filter coffee in a cafe on the Euston road just before boarding the train north. Maybe it’s always been that way, for we do like a good moan about the ‘good old days’ do we not?

As I wandered through Liverpool I came across an interesting variation on the approaching festival; their own version of the tree, under construction.

Liverpool's unique take on joyous Noel.

Liverpool’s unique take on joyous Noel.

However, it interested me due to its link with my return; the theme of ‘Love’. The hearts that adorned the construction fused nicely with the sentiment of my arrival, I thought; a good omen, if you will.

It seems that ‘big’ is in up here on Merseyside and these huge sculptures demonstrate my meaning. Creativity has made Liverpool famous over the years, in music, art and politics. Every time I return, something interesting is going on!

Creative Liverpool!

Creative Liverpool!

And so for the next two weeks, I shall be frequenting the library, crossing the Mersey and walking up to New Brighton to take the bracing air from the Irish Sea. All is well and peace reigns.

I hope it is also with you all, wherever you may be.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to All you need is love…

  1. christian says:

    kisses bella bizzzzzzzz

  2. Christian says:

    glad safely there, and what a wonderful welcome
    would love to walk along new brighton again, with the sea air whipping at your new haircut.
    hot coffee at the library i hope.
    yes christmas is coming early so will be the christmas carols ringing in your ears
    take care see you back in london for coffee and cake
    Cx

  3. Liverpool does have that certain something! Talking of ‘big’ did you chance to see the huuuge puppets there a year or two back?
    Good omens, Poppy! That was s delightful greeting waiting for you!

    • Viking Queen says:

      Missed the puppets Michael, but good omens? I like to think so. Folk never cease to delight me! I’m so fortunate.

  4. Viki Moore says:

    What a lovely note!
    All is well on this side of the world. Summer is on the way! 🙂

  5. finnhagan says:

    Scouse Scallywags . What the Fuck is a Scallywag? Haha.

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  6. Roger Lundqvist says:

    Nice welcome, but I am sure you earned it.
    The shopping centre had already started with Christmas here to.
    All is well here to and I am doing some progress with my boat.

    Roger

  7. Andy says:

    My wife’s (large family) are in Liverpool. She has about fifty cousins there.
    I need to visit that library sometime, as it holds the records of a Bluecoats school that I hope to discover my Gt Grandfather was in.

  8. Renate Krappweis says:

    Always uplifting to read your thoughts and be reminded of the different ways we can live our life. Enjoy your winter and hope to see you again soon.

  9. Ramon says:

    Happy Christmas Poppy. I’ve enjoyed reading about your travels and wish you the best of everything to continue your life of love and peace.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hello Ramon! And the same to you, my compañero! Nice surprise to receive the message. I hope life is treating you well two years on from our Camino. Bless you and take care.

  10. Rosemarie Nitschke says:

    Your blog from Liverpool made me want to jump on a plane to come on over and roam the streets there with you. George Harrison was in my soul in a big way as I listened to his ‘Give me Love’ in the Yogananda film ‘Awake’ yesterday. It just blew me. Mercedes was there with me. Loved that welcome note on your bed in the YH. There is so much goodness and love in the world. Good to know it’s coming your way 😉

    • Viking Queen says:

      Well, I’m back again on the 1st of December for two weeks… why not hop a plane and we can ‘do’ the Beatles! Magical mystery tour, Cavern Club and Küken, coffees? Need I say more?!!! 😈
      Thanks for your kind wishes, and give my love to Mercedes.

      • Rosemarie Nitschke says:

        Hi Poppy, how is Liverpool in December? I am missing your blog. I will keep that in the back of my mind – doing the Magical Mystery Tour (on various level, of course!) maybe in 2016! Do write me a note and tell me what’s happening. I’ll fill you in on the news here as well. As always love and blessings my dear friend!

      • Viking Queen says:

        Hi Rose! All good and yes, magical too. Will write an email soon! Love to you and all your friends back there in beautiful Bayern.

  11. henrike-marie gerber says:

    hello

Leave a Reply

