And to the north..(60°26.7’N, 20°9.9’E).

I write from a tiny island in the northern Åland chain, almost on its furthest limit, called Länsmansgrund (60°26.7’N, 20°9.9’E). It is about as remote as it gets, and that suits me fine.

This tiny bay is very small and tricky to anchor in as the bottom seems to be stony with some weed. Tomorrow could be interesting when trying to raise the anchor and I may be glad to have set a ‘trip’ enabling me to pull it sideways from my small boat should the upward thrust of the windlass jam it under a rock. Many folk anchor without a trip, but should they be unable to release it from the sea bed, may have to cut the cable, or chain, and lose a vital and expensive piece of equipment.

Länsmansgrund anchorage. Can you see the orange ball that marks the anchor? It is connected to the anchor as a 'trip'.

Länsmansgrund anchorage. Can you see the orange ball that marks the anchor? It is connected to the anchor as a ‘trip’.

Mariehamn proved a pleasant sojourn and although touristy, was small and unpretentious, as is the way in the Áland Islands. Meeting with Renata and Johannes again was delightful and we spent a wonderful day visiting the Pommern and they treated me to a pizza in a restaurant next to the magnificent old lady. After they had left, I drifted out into the anchorage and spent a few more days waiting for some rough weather to pass over. No sooner had my German friends sailed, than a call over the VHF came from Henrik and Pernilla, who I had met briefly in Grisselhamn just before sailing for the Ålands. They kindly invited me to visit them the following morning for breakfast on their boat and I replayed the hospitality by shuttling them both out to Free at anchor for afternoon tea and biscuits!

I left Mariehamn once the gale had passed thinking that the inland crossing of the large lake, the Lumparn, would be sheltered from the very stiff southeasterly winds that remained after their cousin had passed through. I couldn’t have been more mistaken! The lake is accessible by a small canal just to the northeast of Mariehamn on the hour, and once through, I set my stays’ l and a well reefed main. The jib was left down just in case there was too much wind.

A wild crossing of the Lumparn, Åland's large inner lake.

A wild crossing of the Lumparn, Åland’s large inner lake.

Well I got that completely correct for Free was hammered as she crossed the huge lake with savage gusts and angry, fierce, smaller waves. She sailed magnificently at an average speed of over six knots, a personal record, but I can’t describe the relief to finally enter the sheltered bay of Bomarsund sixteen miles later! Being unable to anchor off the harbour due to the depth of the fjord, I had to have a night on a stern to mooring. The seven or so boats already there were very helpful assisting this exhausted single-handed sailor tying up, and my immediate neighbours, Theo and Celia from the Netherlands invited me for drinks that evening. Another wonderful moment.

Too deep to anchor, a night in the harbour at Bomarsund.

Too deep to anchor, a night in the harbour at Bomarsund.

You, dear reader, must be thinking that it’s all party, party, party. Well that’s not so. However, there is something about sailing folk in the Ålands, that is different from normal sailing grounds. Could it be, that they, like me, are seeking something a little more than the normal marina/touristic few weeks? Some sailors have expressed the same hunger for peace and solitude that I yearn for; perhaps not quite as extremely, after all I live the life and this is no holiday. There are definitely similarities though; I have come across some very experienced sailors with an incredible local knowledge of his region, and my goodness you do need it! Timo and Tupu Ruohonen from Finland for example, have given me some incredibly important information about anchorages, and my gratitude is immense.

Looking down on my old friend in Länsmansgrund anchorage.

Looking down on my old friend in Länsmansgrund anchorage.

My sailing in the islands has been the best of my whole life. I feel elevated to another level, especially heavy weather sailing. Perhaps the most interesting is the close navigation sailing among the tiny islands, especially north of Bomersund. The tortuous route to Länsmansgrund Island involved some high quality navigation and intelligent use of sails. Quite often one can lose the wind by attacking the wrong side of an island, and yet the alternative may require some extra tricky avoidance of shallow ground, which considering Free’s leeway, can be extremely challenging.

A run ashore to replenish my wood supplies. I am cooking with wood at the moment and it can be a little chilly in the evenings.

A run ashore to replenish my wood supplies. I am cooking with wood at the moment and it can be a little chilly in the evenings.

The rewards far outweigh the risks though, and sometimes one has to pull out the stops and draw on just a little more self belief and courage than normal. Sailing is not for the faint hearted, at least not this type of sailing. Action always speaks louder than words, and sea miles in the end, are the only proof of one’s ability. There is a lot of truth in being able to ‘walk the walk’ rather than ‘talk the talk’.

For the next week I intend to continue around the northern extremities of the islands before dropping south west again in preparation for my return across the Åland Sea to Sweden. I can only hope that old Njörd keeps a hand on this old Viking’s shoulder until then.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to And to the north..(60°26.7’N, 20°9.9’E).

  1. AndaFest says:

    Hi, glad you have had such great sailing! Did you ever consider visiting Jurmo in southern arcipelago? The most unique island in the whole area… I assume you have the Kryssarklubben book of Åland for details.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Not this time. There’s so much to see… I had to make up my mind with all this strange weather, plus my budget dictates that I try not to use the engine! I must sail! I’ve just arrived in Djupviken and will relax for a few days until the next favourable winds. The north of the island has been lovely. I know there’s so much to see, and it will take time.

      • AndaFest says:

        I hope you can return some time! Thank you once again for great postings, I will certainly keep reading! All the best and favourable winds for the rest of the season ( and onwards :-)) !

      • Viking Queen says:

        Your feedback makes it a valuable enterprise, thanks! I am in awe of the beauty of your native land; it is timeless and therapeutic to be here. I doubt that I can do it justice. How can you capture such power with photos and words? If I can convey just half of my feelings then that will have to do!

  2. Hariod Brawn says:

    You look a picture with your axe there Poppy – best not wander down King Street with it though? 😉

    • Viking Queen says:

      I’m warm and fuzzy really, Hariod! Mind you, South Shields on a Friday night… Now there’s a thought!

  3. The true Viking indeed! Complete with poised axe!!Lol!! So in awe of your sailing around this region. It sounds like you are enjoying yourself and accruing immense knowledge of the area, both from your own experience and that of the other sailors you meet. It is always a privilege to come along with you at least in the virtual sense!

  4. Thanks for sharing your time sailing the high seas; I’m not sure that term’s applicable but it adds to the thrill of imagining your voyages across the open oceans, and your account sparks my imagination. I look forward to the reading of your adventures. Don’t take me wrong though, I’m a Landlubber. However, I do fancy swimming in the pond out back. And by the Jolly Roger, I swear I even dream of swimming in large open areas of water. Somewhat weird I’d say, eh. Nonetheless, it’s none the same as sailing atop the Ocean Blue, is it.

    May the wind always be at your back. That is of course, and only if it helps your course.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Peter! No oceans I’m afraid, but trust me when I say that Europe’s seas are no less awe inspiring. Coastal sailing is technically more dangerous due to hazards to navigation etc. so hopefully your romantic notions haven’t been dashed!

  5. It looks so nice with the boat in the sea and sunshine over the islands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

