From Monika, a special Camino friend…. A poem by Oriah Mountain Dreamer.

Here is a poem from Monika, my special compañera on the Camino. She sent it to me on the anniversary of our pilgrimage. What a special gift, mirroring exactly my own philosophy for life and the Viking Way.

“It doesn’t interest me what you do for living,

I want to know what you ache for, and if you dare to dream of meeting your heart`s longing.

It doesn`t interest me how old you are. 

I want to know if you will risk looking for a fool for love, for your dreams, for the adventure of being alive.

It doesn`t interest me what planets are squaring your moon. 

I want to know if you have touched the center of your own sorrow, if you have been opened by life`s betrayals or have become shrivelled and closed for fear of further pain.

I want to know if you can sit with pain, mine or your own, without moving to hide it or fade it or fix it.

I want to know if you can be with joy, mine or your own, if you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you to the tips of your fingers and toes without cautioning us to be careful, be realistic, or to remember the limitation of being human.

It doesn`t interest me if the story you`re telling me is true.

I want to know if you can be true to yourself, if you can bear the accusation of betrayal and not betray your own soul.

I want to know if you can see beauty, even when it is not pretty every day, and if you can source your life from god`s presence.

I want to know if you can live with failure and still stand on the edge of a lake and shout to the silver or the moon, yes!!!

It doesn`t interest me to know, where you live or how much money you have.

I want to know if you can get up after the night of grief and despair, weary and bruised to the bone and sort what needs to be done.

It doesn`t interest me who you are, how you came to be here. 

I want to know if you will stand in the center of the fire, with me and not shrink back.

It doesn`t interest me where or what or with whom you have studied. 

I want to know what sustains you from the inside when all else falls away, and if you truly like the company you keep in the empty moments.”

'Meltemi'

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From Monika, a special Camino friend…. A poem by Oriah Mountain Dreamer.

  1. cornishtim says:

    ‘Like’ hardly seems the right word.

  2. BEAUTIFUL, how kind to share some of the gifts we pilgrims received. Stay strong and dry!

  3. Thanks Poppy (And Monika) for sharing this. Wonderful!

    Congratulations on getting back to your safe haven after your brave foray into the unknown.
    I have enjoyed each and every episode along the way.
    Seek out the distant horizons and guard those you obtain.

    Xx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Bless you Sam and thanks. I will pass on your gratitude to Monika. It has been an intensely profound two years in Scandinavia for sure. Your feedback is much appreciated. Take care and fair winds.

  4. magdalena says:

    Reblogged this on Step by Step and commented:
    I am lost for words, having just read this. Thank you to Darlene for sending this my way.

  5. Leave it to Moni to share such a heartful piece of prose. Miss you Poppy!

Leave a Reply

