Almost Heaven, the Höga Kusten.

There is something special about the idea of saving the best until last, a form of delayed gratification, if you will.

Time was against me after a late July start in my aim to reach the top of the Gulf of Bothnia; so I passed the beautiful Höga Kusten (High Coast) without a chance to explore it, as Free slowly progressed northwards under that boiling sun, during Scandinavia’s hottest summer on record.

Since crossing back from Finland, the weather has been utterly random, with the wind changing every few minutes, or so it seems. One just sets the sails for a while only to be damned by the wretched wind either dropping, or changing direction; we’re not even mentioning the sheets of rain and thunderstorms. All of these have presented Free with a challenging passage south from Umeå.

However, despite the barometer staying low and the depressions coming and going, we have been blessed by some heavenly days of warm, calm weather and some delightful sailing stretches, punctuated only by the necessary motoring to make crucial miles south.

Järnäshamn, a tiny shelter from the weather.

Järnäshamn, a tiny shelter from the weather.

From Holmsund Patholmsviken, near Umeå I sailed to the tiny harbour of Järnäshamn in a vile, rough sea with nasty, vicious steep waves that took my breath away. They were oily black in colour, a depressing, soul-destroying sight out there on your own. Having sheltered in Järnäshamn’s tiny little harbour for a few days, Free then sailed to Husum, the site of the largest pulp mill in Sweden, with probably the friendliest Harbour master I have ever met (who drove me five kilometres to the nearest supermarket, waited, and then drove me back again).

Leaving Husum under sail, it was south into the High Coast and my favourite place thus far, Trysunda Island.

Approaching the harbour on Trysunda Island

Approaching the harbour on Trysunda Island.

In high summer, I would never have visited the island because it is very popular due to its unique beauty, a genuine precious pearl in these waters; however, circumstances found me conveniently placed to stop for a few days.

Taking coffee with Jan and Per.

Taking coffee with Jan and Per.

My doubts were assuaged by the meeting of Jan and Per Berglin, two brothers whose mother was born on the island and were superb guides, showing me some truly sublime parts on foot. Snacking on delicious blueberries and beachcombing as well as a visit to the old seaman’s church filled one of my days and they very kindly paid for me to spend a further one; how kind they were, consolidating yet another memorable moment in my Scandinavian saga!

While on Trysunda I also met a well-known and very brave female sailor, Milo Dahlmann who has sailed with a friend to Antarctica from Chile. She has also crossed both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans single-handed. Someone informed her about my voyages and she asked me if she could write a feature on my life for a Swedish yachting journal.

Milo Dahmann, a Swedish legend. A very brave sailor.

Milo Dahlmann, a Swedish legend. A very brave sailor.

Me? This is a famous Swedish sailor writing about me? At this point I have to admit to being totally humbled by a truly amazing lady with courage almost off the Richter scale. I am embarrassed that she would want to write about this rather ordinary old sailor after all of her achievements.

Being a great believer in local knowledge, I decided to take her advice and follow to the delightful little Viken of Mjältön, ten miles further south and we joined the crews of two other boats in the little bay on a glorious late summer’s evening, cooking our combined remaining food on an open fire. As I sat there, no words were necessary, for the reflection of a life so fortunately lived.

Mjältön Island and a friendly gathering for dinner!

Mjältön Island and a friendly gathering for dinner!

A very stiff northerly breeze the following day saw us sail ten further miles to the quaint little fishing village of Bönhamn, another highly visited summer attraction now totally empty, playing host to our two boats. Even though the wind was blowing off the islands to the north, by the time we had covered five miles, the sea had become black and ugly, presenting Free with her usual steering challenge as the waves rushed under her keel (my belief is that her rudder is too small for a large following sea, possibly her only design fault). Reefing the main sail was necessary to slow her down with just the staysail set forward. By the time we reached Bönhamn, my pulse rate was highly invigorated; but my, oh my, what a thrilling little sail!

It is time to say hej då to Milo as she and her friend have a different schedule to me. They are heading south towards Stockholm, her home port, and have two weeks of holiday. Our boats are very different so needs must be too. Milo’s is a modern, steel ocean sailer whereas Free is a Jane of all trades, a tough old lady, but still a little vulnerable in these Baltic conditions.

Running my easting down. Southbound towards Borka with a good reach; time for a coffee!

Running my easting down. Southbound on a good reach; time for a coffee!

Her old skipper is tired now and feeling the effects of constant adverse weather and spartan living. Sometimes, I dream of a few hours in my favourite café lost in a good book, without having to worry whether my anchor is going to drag, or my concentration finally give out as the rock with my name on it finally catches up and seeks retribution. The constant strain of close navigation can take its toll and the thought of Borka is now on my mind.

Weather permitting, as always, Sundsvall awaits, followed by a series of other small anchorages and harbours before returning to the friendly haven of Borka Brygga boat club.

However, it’s never over until the fat lady sings, as they say, and there’s a way to go yet.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Almost Heaven, the Höga Kusten.

  1. cornishtim says:

    Will be out on the Carrick Roads dodging the tall ships regatta this weekend. How I wis I could have spent just a day on your boat on this wonderful ( if slightly hair-raising trip )

  2. Andy says:

    I like that:Jane of all trades 🙂

  3. Viki Moore says:

    Looks wonderful and I can’t even begin to try and pronounce some of those place names! I can’t wait to sail that part of the world too some day. Congratulations on the article too! Well deserved! 🙂

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    What an inspirational life you lead; I am so full of admiration, and thanks too, for these updates.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Hariod! I do try to live for the moment and celebrate the value of the precious now. The gloom and despondency of the modern world needn’t be so. We are all artists, creating our impact on the world, as I’m sure you’d agree. It is always lovely to receive feedback… thank you.

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        I have told my brother and sister about this blog Poppy, and will buy a copy of your book which doubtless will be a treat. Once I have read it, and with your permission, I may want to write an article on my own blog concerning your decision to become a Viking Queen.

        With very best wishes.

        Hariod.

      • Viking Queen says:

        You have my blessing Hariod. If it inspires someone, somewhere to become their true selves, then it will be worth it.

      • Whitt88 says:

        Wisdom in a nutshell.

  5. Poppy, another fascinating saga, thanks for the vivid pictures you paint. Now for calmer waters
    I hope as you approach this epic journey’s ending. What a team you and Free are!
    All best things ahead. Ruth

  6. Many of us underestimate our own strengths and downplay our abilities. Isn’t it drummed into us not to blow our own trumpet? It is self-evident that you have done an amazing thing in Free, (not that I feel qualified to comment on sailing), but judging by the reactions of the people you meet along the way, and the stories you tell here, you are nothing short of extraordinary! This is why Milo writes about you and why your energy levels are down. I hope you get a little rest along the southward journey. It also looks like you have had some really fantastic summer evenings. I can feel the Scandinavian atmosphere oozing off the screen. (feeling slightly envious) 🙂

    • Viking Queen says:

      That’s very perceptive, Amanda. Maybe the extraordinary has become the ordinary for me? The constant concentration and sail handling, plus the erratic movement on the sea, all combine to wear you out after a while. There’s no one to share the tasks in my case, so the buck stops with me, if you will. This has become a way of life for me, so perhaps I need to stand back and look with a different perspective sometime. I’m so glad that you get something from my posts and if anyone is inspired enough to step into the unknown, it will be a bonus!

  7. Dominique says:

    Hey Poppie,

    So good to hear from you 🙂 Thanks for the update and all lovely pictures.
    So brave of you to explore the Baltic, please make sur you do not head where no one has gone before though, we do want you back here, you know 🙂
    I hope to see you soon
    All the best
    Dominique

  8. Dominique says:

    Hi Poppie,

    I finally left “Pizzaland” for a shared house, more comfortable and almost ideal with access to the garden…. I am going to plant some lavender, basil and parsley.. :). You ll have to come and visit.

    Still looking for work as I stupidly resigned a couple of weeks ago.. Just lost it and cracked up. But then I found this house, so back in the rat race… My little demons are playing me again and again…. 🙂
    This time with a secret project though… You never know… It might work!!!??….. 🙂
    If not, I’ll have to get myself a donkey so that I can look at myself every day… Lol

    Also, did you know they are selling our home in hp in November 😦 – you may enjoy the last days if back on time though… But plenty more fishes in the sea…

    I hope to catch up with you soon…

    Big hugs

    Xxx

    Dominique

Leave a Reply

