OMG! Hold the front page!!!

The celebrity lifestyle can be so stressful…

Only joking! However I have definitely never been on the front page of a newspaper before so please indulge me!

I was given this copy of the local newspaper by one of the villagers and must admit to being shocked. It is really surreal to see yourself staring out from the front page. Then the gentlemen opened the paper and revealed yet more…

Apparently my interview will also be televised and hopefully I shall receive a link, so watch this space! Will you be the other person who is interested in my newly acquired celebrity status in the far north of Sweden? (Only joking)

On a slightly more serious note, it is rather nice to receive so much kindness and hospitality from these genuinely lovely people. They remind me of a time when folk in the United Kingdom were kinder and less resentful; a time where simplicity and good manners were the rule rather than the exception. Certainly, since arriving in Sweden back in May, I have been very fortunate to meet so many gentle, helpful folk and if you are reading this, may I thank you all from my heart.

Saying goodbye to some friends from Haparanda. It was time to sail again

Saying goodbye to some friends from Haparanda. It was time to sail again.

Today it was back to business as usual, and after some repair work on my jib sail and all over damage inspection, I once again put to sea. Climbing back on the metaphorical horse comes to mind, and I must admit to feeling nervous as I set sail, once clear of Jävre. However, I needn’t have worried, for Free sailed beautifully in a lively breeze, under full sail. That feeling coursed through my veins again… The one where connection is made with generations of sailors who have harnessed the winds throughout the years, right back to the first sail.

What a privilege it is to share this simplicity with so many sailors, including generations of my own family. I am truly humbled by the thought and leave this little poem I wrote many years ago:

‘Once there was a dream,

a time of trade winds,

of ancient routes,

sailed through millennia.

And I imagined that helm,

its connection with those days, of Marco Polo, Frobisher and Drake,

for those who followed in their wake.

This restless soul communing with those,

who flirted with the compass rose.

I salute you.’

 

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to OMG! Hold the front page!!!

  1. christisn says:

    better ask for your autograph next time i c u.
    lol
    Cx

  2. cornishtim says:

    And we salute you! Such a tale well told.

  3. kevinnemo says:

    You truly are the Queen today !

  4. Well deserved, Poppy. Your romance with Scandinavia continues! Can’t wait to hear more.

  5. Lotta Carlen says:

    Helow!! Nice picture of us ( Kjell ( ” Shell ” ) and Lotta ) and meeting you too. Have a nice day!! Big hugs from Kjell & L8

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hello Lotta! Lovely to receive a message from you! I have just arrived in Raahe, Finland, after a good sail (at last) from Majariemi, near Oulu. It was nice to meet you on Gåstören. Enjoy the rest of your summer and say hej to Kjell.

Leave a Reply

