Borka farewell

So on a beautiful, warm summer’s morning, two old ladies finally put to sea.

There was barely a breath of wind as ‘Free’ motored gently into Enånger Fjord leaving the little village of Borka shimmering in her wake. I was sad to say goodbye to this tiny piece of paradise, where I have been made so welcome throughout all of the little trials and tribulations associated with running an old sail boat. Sure, there is a piece of my heart that will always be Borka, with her humble, kind folk.

Saying goodbye to Paddy (left) and Joe, my young traveller friends, the evening before I sailed.

Saying goodbye to Paddy (left) and Joe, my young traveller friends, the evening before I sailed.

In the past week or so, I have made friends with an Irish traveller family who are working in Sweden, mainly with roof replacement. What a lovely family they are; so alive, vibrant and optimistic. The children: Paddy, Joe and James, were very keen to have a look around Free and wished me luck, as did Eva who has made me feel especially welcome; and will undoubtedly be a friend for life. Once again, I felt the pull of past life experience. It was if we have always known each other; just like last year as I sailed up the Swedish Coast.

Today I decided to stop early, as my friends James and Tara don’t arrive in Sundsvall until late Friday afternoon. As usual, I am forever trying to save money and managed to locate a Svenska Kryssarklubben buoy off the Island of Kuggören, just to the north east of Hudiksvall. These buoys are available to members and prove useful sanctuary, as they will not drag like an anchor, thus permitting a peaceful evening’s sleep. They are usually positioned in delightful settings too, an added bonus.

On the Svenska Kryssaklubben buoy at  Kuggören

On the Svenska Kryssaklubben buoy at Kuggören

I am hoping for my wind soon, something with a little south in it. This is so important in my quest to save money. Polly is a good engine, but she is large and thirsty. Last year was a blessing with the prevailing Sou’westerlies, conducive to sailing progress everywhere except the Kalmarsund between Öland and the mainland, where constant northerlies produced a tough week of island hopping and sailing too close to windward, an act that Free really doesn’t like. The next few days will see me trying to outsmart the strange coastal winds here, which tickle and tease. There is only so much a sailor can do to harness the wind.

In the past month, I have found myself questioning the purpose of what I am doing…

Is it a waste of time? Would it be better to be employed in something more ‘productive’? I wondered if folk would consider this life as eternal hippydom, never being able to settle down into the mainstream. And yet my meditations, in the peace of Borka, far away from distraction of global insanity, have dissolved this latent guilt, sublimating it into a major realisation; that this is exactly where I am supposed to be. A place in the universal jigsaw puzzle remains unclear; but is that necessarily a bad thing?

My conclusion is that this sailing life is a spiritual practice of sorts, a path of mindfulness involving the surrendering to and embracing of ‘what is’. Sometimes when one enters the silence, all is revealed and problems fall away or become miraculously solved. Angelic entities appear from all quarters, right enough. Let me qualify it even more: everyone’s life is a spiritual practice, whether we like it or not. True happiness is achieved by present moment awareness and eliminating the excessive mental baggage of past and future, the domains of fear and heartbreak…

I can only stand and shiver in ecstasy.

I can only stand and shiver in ecstasy.

And so, as the sun begins its westerly descent, the sound of Swedish children’s laughter reaches me across the water. A carefully cooked lentil curry plus a peaceful night’s sleep await me.

Can life really be any better?

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Borka farewell

  1. I was thinking similar thoughts myself this evening as I parked my van beside the beach and wandered barefoot through the waves for an hour or two. This lifestyle may be crazy and it can’t last forever but I know for sure that I’m privileged to have the opportunity to take a gamble and soak it all up. The van door’s still wide open and the sound of the waves will be in my dreams tonight. Sleep well Viking Queen.

    • Viking Queen says:

      I understand… I can picture your environment… stunning and uplifting… but ‘never say never’. Let spirit guide you. Something tells me, you won’t be able to go back to the the humdrum; that doesn’t seem to be you at all.

  2. christisn says:

    Glad the old ladies are at sail. The sea is calling both of u to carry on with yr adventure together. Could feel the pull of yr last picture view wonderful peaceful and yet talking to you.
    Enjoy what life is going to throw at u as never know what is come good or bad.
    Take care
    Cx

  3. cornishtim says:

    Nooooooo! Only a little southerly will make it better. Wonderful times.

  4. Claus says:

    Just love your philosofic mind 🙂 May the Wind be with you both

  5. Maggie says:

    Fabulous writing. And so happy to see you sailing Free again…Metaphor intended 🙂

  6. Idyllic sunset and light! I can imagine how happy you felt in this environment as I can feel it looking at the light cast in the photographs. There is something special about this part of the world, and especially so on the long summer evenings. There IS nothing better, and it seems at times, that heaven and eternity seem tantalisingly close! Perhaps the scandinavian summer is so short because it is too beautiful.

Leave a Reply

