Midsummer Gratitude

Without doubt Midsummer is the most important day of celebration in Sweden. Obviously due to the very short Summer season in Scandinavia, every opportunity to experience the light must be seized before the return of the dark Winter.                         For many Swedes this year there is a palpable disappointment in the air as the relentless cold nor’westerly winds continue to stream down their east coast. Two days ago this tough old viking actually put on ‘Bilbo’ her faithful old wood-burner, to take the chill off the air!

Eva and Mats took me up the coast to Hölick.

Eva and Mats took me up the coast to Hölick.

Despite the chilly, unpredictable weather and the endless mechanical headaches, I have been plunged into a state of eternal gratitude for the charming, friendly residents of this small Swedish community.                                                                                                          Eva lives near the boat club and has become a good friend. She was determined that I wouldn’t spend Midsummer alone, so her and husband Mats invited me to spend it with them. We drove in their camper-van up to the charming little village of Hölick.

Hölick is a charming little village. It used to be a fishing harbour.

Hölick is a charming little village. It used to be a fishing harbour.

This lovely little village is typical of many that grace the coasts of Sweden, and like the North Sea communities in England and Scotland, they have lost their Cod fish reserves due to over fishing. This has left the villages empty to be rejuvenated for summer homes. One more sad example of another way of life disappearing into history.

And what of Free and the starter-motor saga?

Well, yesterday I finally received a replacement from England, thanks to the kindness and ingenuity of Barry, a gentleman in the company who managed to adapt a new one to be applicable for marine use.

At last! The new starter-motor has arrived from England.

At last! The new starter-motor has arrived from England.

Barry went the extra mile for me, even ringing back at his expense to get the item ordered. Once again my gratitude is immense for yet another angel. Barry and his company DFJ Automotive of Preston, Lancashire have solved yet another one of my mechanical problems.                                                                                                                     Of course, the saga still has chapters yet to untold, for once installed, it still has to work. Perhaps the problem lies elsewhere? Who knows? This is why I am so fortunate having the experience of folk like Anders, for example.

Yet more gratitude. Anders has years of experience with diesel engines and has been a great help.

Yet more gratitude. Anders has years of experience with diesel engines and has been a great help.

‘A problem shared is a problem halved’, really applies to most marine situations, and it is always good to learn from those who have greater experience. Anders is a man who has all these qualities and I think of him as an engine-whisperer. He joins the list of angelic entities who have taught me so much in this seafaring life.

My little home in paradise. Free is on the extreme left at Borka Boat club.

My little home in paradise. Free is on the extreme left at Borka Boat club.

My aim is now to reach Sundsvall by the 11th of July to meet friends Tara and James from England. They will stay with me for a few days, hopefully to share a little of the beautiful Höga kusten (High Coast). Of course this ultimately depends on a final solution to all matters mechanical.                                                                                                                   More immediate is the impending visit of a Danish friend of mine, Bernadette, on Monday. We met in London in one of the Youth Hostels and shared many ideas and stories of travelling. She is very intelligent and I feel we are in for some interesting conversation on board Free. 

Next week I am off to the north with Eva to take part in a local radio program about my travels, based on the Desert Island Disc format on BBCRadio 4 in the UK; so I have chosen my ten favourite pieces of music and will be interviewed about my sailing life.

The sea mist creeps into the fjord.

The sea mist creeps into the fjord.

Life is beautiful just as it is…

Wherever one finds oneself, and no matter how hard or desperate the situation is; the outer world is just a reflection of one’s thinking. You see what you project, and our power is in creating a beautiful story, no matter how humble or apparently mundane. We are surely all artists in this great cosmos, playing parts in the dance of the divine Lila. 

I am so grateful that the values of hospitality are still alive in small communities such as these.

Eva has the last word in my missive:

‘We are a seafaring community and always care for those who come from the sea.’

 

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Midsummer Gratitude

  1. Happy Midsummer and good luck with the mechanicals!

  2. Another cause for celebration Poppy! Keep them coming and all BEST things to come. Ruth

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you Ruth!!! Stiff upper lip, what? How are you my dear friend? Hope you are enjoying life to the maximum!

  3. rollinwithcarro says:

    Glad misommar Poppy

  4. “Wherever one finds oneself, and no matter how hard or desperate the situation is; the outer world is just a reflection of one’s thinking. You see what you project, and our power is in creating a beautiful story, no matter how humble or apparently mundane.” This is a really profound and powerful statement Poppy! It is just what I needed to read tonight! Thank you!

    • Viking Queen says:

      You are more than welcome, Amanda. True spirituality is taking full responsibility for one’s causes. I’m sure you live your life like this.

      • I certainly try. The way you live your life is inspirational!!

      • Viking Queen says:

        Your work definitely promotes a new way to look at the meaning of one’s life. For me, I have used sailing as a background to a more integrated lifestyle. The most important aspects are what one does with the hours in a day; it simply isn’t enough to drift through the days in a daydream. From your writing, I can see you live your life like an artistic expression. ‘Life is Art and Art is life’

      • Oh thank you so much for those very kind and flattering comments and it is fun to incorporate art or at least creativity into one’s day and writing.Life is a work in progress. I could get caught out drifting through some of my days, but then feel frustrated and disappointed with the lack of achievement afterwards . Your ‘canvas’ of life is large, open, yet full of intricate details!

      • Viking Queen says:

        I like the way you weave themes together and the wisdom that relates so well to your Scandinavian soul. But drifting is ok too! It’s at times like those where sudden creative impulses strike!!!

      • I think a lot of artists would agree (not that I consider myself an artist.)

      • Viking Queen says:

        I wonder what is? Who decides? I believe we are all artists ‘painting’ our own life canvass. We are all special in as much as we are unique. Who has the right to determine what art is?

      • Again, a wise comment Poppy. I often think that it is ironic that there are art critics yet art is something that is SO up to the individual interpretation. I could throw a pot of paint on a canvas and someone would like it! Painting is an art that comes from the heart! Should we judge our hearts?

      • Viking Queen says:

        Never… There’s so much arrogance in the ‘critic’ world. Much of this based on resentment. We are all creators, I believe.

  5. On that, we concur!!!:-)

Leave a Reply

