The pain and the glory.

Oblivious to what the next few days would bring! Happy in Hudiksvall!

Oblivious to what the next few days would bring! Happy in Hudiksvall!

Every year has its incident.

The seafaring life always throws problems at you as if to say; “So you want to be free, huh? Well how about this?”

Bish….

“What now?” Replies the Viking Queen, “Haven’t I had enough in the past few years?” (Collisions, defunct batteries, ‘The Helgoland affair’, the Lowestoft submarine incident…) “Come, come, my diminutive pretender, Do you really think you can thwart me?” Sayeth life.                                                                                                                                                  “No, but just cut me some slack for once… just a trouble-free period where all goes perfectly!”

Bosh!!!

“How about a broken Starter motor? Will that do you?”                                                        “If you must, but I’d rather you didn’t!”

“Dream on…”

I tried to wake up from the nightmare, but it was still broken in the morning. No matter how much wishing that I could turn back the clock to before this odious event, it was not to be!

Out it comes... the poor old starter-motor that had had enough.

Out it comes… the poor old starter-motor that had had enough. I have more than a little empathy.

If I’m really honest, this whole lifestyle has had me questioning ‘why?’ many times; after all why put yourself in such dangerous conditions just for the ridiculous notion of being apparently free?

And then I apply the brakes, put the kettle on and have a nice cup of tea. (Ahh… that’s better!)

For eight years now I have run the gauntlet of being ‘free’, at least my own interpretation of it; wondering when my luck will run out, only to return with my tail between my legs to the employment market (isn’t everything a market these days?).

Every pain and tribulation means nothing compared with this...

Every pain and tribulation means nothing compared with this…

And then I witness the Divine painting her magnificence as the sun sets; or feel the sea air on my cheeks… My heart expands until it almost bursts with joy; so immensely grateful for these past seafaring years. No matter what lies ahead, I will never forget this dear old sailing boat and our thousands of miles together.

Thank you my starter-motor friend for keeping me grounded and grateful for the opportunities that come my way.

 

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The pain and the glory.

  1. Monika Schneider says:

    My dear Poppy, thank you so much for your pain and glory story 🙂 i have to learn so much from you, thank you, you are a wonderful woman!! i wish you strength and energy for live your life, how do you do it!! and always people, who help you on your camino 😉

    respect!! a big hug from moni

    A Viking Saga: no one here gets out alive… schrieb am 16:54 Dienstag, 27.Mai 2014:

    WordPress.com Viking Queen posted: ” Every year has its incident. The seafaring life always throws problems at you as if to say; “So you want to be free, huh? Well how about this?” Bish…. “What now?” Replies the Viking Queen, “Haven’t I had enough in the past few years?” (Coll”

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hi Monika! A little like the Camino really… trust in the Holy Spirit and in the goodness of people (like you my friend). Fortune always favours the brave. Bless you my friend. (and you too are my teacher)

  2. Sue Horsup says:

    Hey Pops, loving the headgear. I said I knew you’d end up in one of those non authentic Viking hats. Hope you get the starter motor sorted and you are back on your way soon. Love m&sx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Don’t worry… I didn’t buy it!!! How are you both? Let me know. I now await the return of the offending startermotor from somewhere in Söderhamn!

  3. finnhagan@yahoo.co.uk says:

    Hit it with a hammer. Its the bushes provably that arnt engaging… When you coming back? I sometimes play dark island for ya… Regards. Blessings. Finn.Sent from Samsung Mobile

    “A Viking Saga: no one here gets out alive…” wrote:

    Viking Queen posted: ”

    Every year has its incident.

    The seafaring life always throws problems at you as if to say; “So you want to be free, huh? Well how about this?”

    Bish….

    “What now?” Replies the Viking Queen, “Haven’t I had enough in the past few years?” (Coll”

    • Viking Queen says:

      Been there… done that, big man! It’s the wiring I think, burned out (Bit like me!). It’ll be a while before I’m back, maybe late September? Play with your heart Finn… always.

  4. Claus Højlund says:

    no comments. Just Thumps up for you Poppy . a tough girl 😉
    🙂

  5. Love your words Poppy, even though you challenge seamed overwhelming, you still found gratitude, and the door to open that was a cup of tea and a sunset….amazing! Your story reminds me of some of the obstetrical’s I had on my 500 mile Camino journey. Not the just the challenge of walking at the age of 68, it was all the international controversy I had when I announced I would do it with no money for food. I thought the pilgrims did it with no money, why can’t I? I think like you, we have learned to trust our heart, I know it has never led me down the wrong path! Now, my head has. Finding graduated in that cup of tea and a sunset, was the answer to my life long question of finding peace in the moment. Oh…this life thing is fun! I might like to be a stowaway on your next voyage.

  6. Viking Queen says:

    Thank you Jim. Good for you… I walked for a while with a German boy named Simon, who was doing the Camino like you, sleeping in churches, receiving alms along the way. And why not? He walked from Germany all the way and was great company; I could listen to him for hours. Simon was humble about his quest, a true man of God, in my view. It takes all sorts as you know, but many folk were too fast for me, bringing their target based version of reality onto the path. Fair enough, that was their lesson, but I learned much from dear Simon, as i am from your incredible humility and perception of what it means to be fully human. Bless you my friend.

  7. That sunset is gorgeous and divine, and I can well understand those joyous feelings. So glad that you could find a positive amongst all the negative stuff with the starter motor. You will triumph!!

  8. cornishtim says:

    A sip of tea, a sunset….who needs a starter motor to take you away from all that?

  9. Tim says:

    Finally caught up with the backlog of your postings that have been accumulating in my inbox. A bit of an emotional mixed-bag! …No, not you Poppy; your blog! 😉
    I’d been eagerly awaiting to find out what my favourite sailing heroine’s next big adventure would be. So to learn this might be the final voyage is hard to believe. Let’s see what the Summer brings!

    Reading this last posting brings back fond memories of my own time in Finland. Staring out of my office window, watching the sea slowly melting, digging my boat out of the snow and preparing it for Summer sailing.

    Well, if this is to be your last sailing adventure, it is one of the most beautiful seas to sail in, and perhaps it is a kind of home-coming for a viking queen. Thank you in advance for sharing it wish us.
    xxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Ah well Tim, all good things must come to an end. Better to swallow the anchor while I’m still ahead. I feel that Free belongs here, and it would be lovely for her to be looked after by a local man, a friend, and his daughter. A gentle retirement for a faithful friend after so much hard sailing.
      For me, maybe it’s time for the ‘Viking Queen’ to become the ‘Gypsy Queen’ and grace the canals of fair England in a narrowboat. Much more leisurely. I can’t seem to stop my wanderings; always been thus.
      Thank you for your lovely feedback and support. I hope the ‘Last Summer’ will be as memorable and beautiful as Abba’s song of the same title.

  10. Tim says:

    PS: Nice hat! 🙂

  11. christian says:

    short and sweet reply you will go forward like always. things thrown at us just to make us stronger, free will not give up, her starter motor will soon be back roaring to go, just needs a little love and care and that thing we are always looking for money. enjoy the extra sunsets and tea

    Cx

  12. What a saga but, Poppy you always surmount these crises, All I can say is take all the time you can.You’ll find a way out to be sure. Keep looking at the sunset!
    Love, ruth

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hello my dear friend! Yes… slowly all is fusing together, day by day. I am living in paradise with the scent of pine and the mist rolling across the fjord. No hurry… no worry.

  13. Reblogged this on Sunday Morning Coffee, with Jim and commented:
    What an inspiration this lady is …. not only what she did but how she thinks!

Leave a Reply

