In…

There are two really bad moments when you live on a boat… Getting lifted out, and being dropped back in, with the latter verb hopefully metaphorical in nature!

Saturday the tenth of May was Free’s official start to summer and my nerves were frayed as the huge crane arrived to execute this aerial manoeuvre.

Hold on... I'm not an aeroplane! The huge crane takes all of Free's ten tons into the air.

Hold on… I’m not an aeroplane!
The huge crane takes all of Free’s ten tons into the air.

There are so many things possible to go wrong, that one can become a little fatalistic and blasé about the whole affair. Surely a man who makes his living lifting boats in and out of the water isn’t going to drop mine onto the concrete and destroy my only home? I must confess to forcing myself to watch the whole drama with the same nerve as fronting out any North Sea blow.

I can hardly bear to look as Free begins her final descent into the water.

I can hardly bear to watch as Free begins her final descent into the water.

Eventually, thank Njörd, Free was lowered safely into the water and then the second obstacle had to be encountered… Will she float? Do I hear a few chuckles? Well, okay I am being a little dramatic perhaps, but the various hull fittings have dried during the long period out of the water so water could leak in initially.

However, my trusty companion remained happy and dry inside, for the wet stuff stayed mercifully on the other side of her hull. Obstacle number two tackled.

Safely in the water. Chatting to the friendly members of the Borka Brygga sailing club.

Safely in the water. Chatting to the friendly members of the Borka Brygga boat club.

The final part of the jigsaw was starting Polly, my faithful old Perkins diesel engine, after so long asleep in her anti-freeze womb. No problem there either.

So the big day came and went, and once again I have to thank Micke and the lovely people of Borka Brygga for all their help throughout the winter. I have grown very fond of the area and its folk and wonder what they think about this strange, tall woman clumping around the place in her famous sea boots!

For the next few weeks I will slowly prepare Free for her sea trials, as well as fit a new radar cable. There is a lot to do, but plenty of time to do it in as the weather is still very cold up north. One step at a time as they say, but for now there is everything I need… friends, warm hospitality, a home, fresh air, forests and a beautiful big sky with that sublime light to lull me asleep.

What more can a Viking girl need?

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In…

  1. I’ve never experienced a boat engine that starts without difficulty so congratulations! And happy summer.

  2. cornishtim says:

    Bon voyages. Lovely boat.

  3. Anne and Chauncey Bancroft says:

    Glad to hear you are back on the water! We are back in Spain…Friday we arrived in Sahagun where we met you and ended our Camino last year. Now we are in Leon…quite different aspect to the Meseta this time of year…fields all lovely shades of green, flowers everywhere….nice sunny weather…The Old Couple (trailjournals.com)… Date: Sat, 10 May 2014 23:22:48 +0000 To: aanuc@hotmail.com

    • Viking Queen says:

      Wonderful to know you are in Leon! I enjoyed the Auberge there… lovely volunteers! Well done for your efforts; it’s along way from Maine, right enough. May the Holy Spirit guide your steps. Take care and keep me posted please!

Leave a Reply

