The fate of a nation…

Sometimes, one is moved by an instant… An infusion of spirit that stills the heart and soul.

And so it was with me, as I climbed up to Arthur’s Seat on a beautiful sunny day, leaving the magnificent Edinburgh panorama way below.

I felt the ghosts of a nation calling out to me and I wanted to write this poem for them, so that they may rest easy.

Can it be that this flower of Scotland,

will grow again?

And her collective souls, that in battle fell,

On Culloden’s bloody field,

at last may sleep?

Humbled am I on Arthur’s Seat,

surveying history in the making.

Scotland’s Camino is just beginning…

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The fate of a nation…

  1. perthians says:

    May she roar Freedom one day soon 🙂

  2. I’m a patriotic Celtic sister too, Viking Queen, but don’t share your impressions or ambitions for my country. Scotland has grown confident and proud without Independence or nationalism and the majority of us can reflect on our history – and injustices perpetrated at Culloden and elsewhere by fellow Scots as well as English – without wanting to split the union.
    Glad you’re seeing Edinburgh in sunshine, by the way. It’s my favourite city!

  3. Viking Queen says:

    Fortunately as a Scottish trained teacher and half the blood, I think I’m allowed an opinion. I’m sure there are many pro and agin. And I will always voice my opinion… know this my friend. I am a brave woman, with my own mind and views, just like you.

  4. Every community has a right to self-determination, or at least I think so.

  5. finnhagan@yahoo.co.uk says:

     Hope your well…Sent from Samsung Mobile

    “A Viking Saga: no one here gets out alive…” wrote:

    Viking Queen posted: “Sometimes, one is moved by an instant… An infusion of spirit that stills the heart and soul.

    And so it was with me, as I climbed up to Arthur’s Seat on a beautiful sunny day, leaving the magnificent Edinburgh panorama way below.

    I felt the ghosts ”

  6. Kermit says:

    Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  7. Valentina says:

    I simply must tell you that you have written a great as well as unique article that I actually enjoyed reading.

    I’m fascinated with how well you presented your material
    and presented your views. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

