Camino Beatitudes.

Whilst on the the Camino last year, I met and walked with Sarah, from New Mexico. We covered many miles and shared our hopes and dreams under the beautiful skies of the Meseta.

Sarah and I taking a break.

Sarah and I taking a break.

Recently she told me of an experience regarding a chance meeting with a wise soul in a tiny hill top church near Pamplona in the Basque Country.

I wanted to share this with you all as I feel blessed by receiving them from my dear friend. In this modern world, with so much chaos, noise and heartache everywhere, I am fortunate enough to be anchored in light and love; part of a true fellowship of dear friends. We walked, and lived on this blessed path, forever linked in light.

Maybe there is something here for everyone, even the loneliest, saddest and most heartbroken of us all. If one can substitute the word ‘Camino’ for a subjective path i.e a personal journey, then perhaps a glimmer of hope can reveal itself from under Mammon’s dark clouds.

To sit quietly, watch, smile and cultivate gratitude for this chance of life is true freedom. How can the forces of darkness cast a shadow on such  simple power?

Blessings, Poppy

On the Meseta.

On the Meseta.

Here they are:

 

The Beatitudes of the Pilgrim

 Blessed are you pilgrim,

 –if you discover that the Camino opens your eyes to what is not seen.

–if what concerns you most is not to arrive as to arrive with others.

–when you contemplate the Camino and you discover it is full of names and dawns.

–because you have discovered that the authentic Camino begins when it is completed.

–if your knapsack is emptying of things, and your heart does not know where to hang up so many feelings and emotions.

–if you discover that one step back to help another is more valuable than a hundred forward without seeing who and what is at your side.

–when you don’t have words to give thanks for everything that surprises you at every twist and turn along the way.

–if you search for the truth and make of the Camino a life, and of your life a way, in search of the one who is the Way, the Truth and the Life.

–if on the way you meet yourself, and gift yourself with time, without rushing, so as not to disregard the image in your heart.

–if you discover that the Camino holds a lot of silence; and the silence of prayer; and the prayer of meeting with God who is waiting for you.

 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Camino Beatitudes.

  1. Maggie97520 says:

    Beautiful!

  2. christian says:

    words beauiful

  3. Such wonderfully wise words, Poppy. My Danish author friend who also walked the Camino would find commonalities with these words. Are you ever planning to walk St Olav’s pilgrim route in Norway?

  4. archecotech says:

    From the message that I left at your about page, I think I’ve found the answer here.

    Thank you.

    • Viking Queen says:

      I’m really glad if I can help in any way. I’m not that brave, but probably more afraid of mediocrity than the danger I put myself in! Being a true romantic and solitary by nature has made it easier for me; plus an endless quest for spiritual evolution along the lines of ‘Is this all there is?’ The question was… what if I never do it? It was one question I didn’t dare to contemplate!
      Good luck my friend!

Leave a Reply

