From here to there…

I have surprised even myself this past month; maybe breaking all records in my gypsy life…

Somehow I have managed to live in five cities within three countries, all in one month! London, Liverpool, Manchester, Berlin and now Brussels.

Christian shows me around his city, Brussels. Here we are at the Atomium.

Christian shows me around his city, Brussels. Here we are at the Atomium.

I had a brief four days in Berlin in which I attended a particularly arduous Meditation retreat to clean out the psychic garbage that has collected in my subconscious over the past few months. This was very necessary but has left me shattered; thus it was off to Brussels to stay with my dear friend Christian for some blissful r&r. A chance to recharge my batteries and lose myself in a city which is growing on me more and more.

Brussels is unusual and rarely visited compared with the more popular European cities of Amsterdam, Paris, Prague and Berlin; however, it has much to offer and in my opinion it is one of the friendliest cities on the continent.

In the Cafe, 'Union Belgica', a famous bohemian spot in St. Gilles, a suburb of Brussels.

In the Cafe, ‘Union Belgica’, a famous bohemian spot in St. Gilles, a suburb of Brussels.

Christian lives in a suburb known as Anderlecht, a short tram ride away from the centre and a bustling multicultural community. Normally however, he is away in South America by now, involved in an amazingly pertinent conservation project in the Peruvian Amazon which always welcomes support. Here is the website address:  www.acona-perou.org

So what is next?

Well, I am wondering like most folk, when the winter is going to begin. While the storms lash Western Europe, the temperatures remain moderate. Should this remain the case and Spring graces us with an early presence, the Gulf of Bothnia beckons. I must nervously reacquaint myself with ‘Free’ and lord only knows what I will find. All I can say is, thank goodness for Micke Van Ewijk up there in the north of Sweden. It is a relief to know that ‘Free’ is in good hands.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From here to there…

  1. Simona says:

    Never a dull moment for the Viking Queen. Five cities in a month and a new dawn looming on the Gulf of Bothnia! May your courage and never-dying enthusiasm pave the way to another awe-inspiring chapter.

    S. x

  2. Lucy says:

    What a lovely up-beat post Poppy, so glad to hear you so happy and having fabulous adventures. ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

