Another place, another Youth Hostel.

Guess where I am? The picture obviously gives it away!

The 'Fab Four', adorn the walls of the Liverpool Youth Hostel.

The ‘Fab Four’, adorn the walls of the Liverpool Youth Hostel.

Yes, Liverpool, the home of the Beatles, probably the most famous pop group of all time.

A chilly wind blew in off the Irish Sea as I left the train at Liverpool lime Street and walked past the Albert Dock down to the Youth Hostel to begin my two week sentence!!!

No, only joking! This great City is going through a major change from a depressed, Northern British City to a major tourist attraction, and it is a pleasure to be here. Liverpool is similar in many ways to my own beloved Newcastle. In fact, both cities have many similarities. Both were major ports and centres of Shipbuilding, with Cammell Laird, being Liverpool’s main yard. Like my home, Liverpool was the victim of Mrs Thatcher’s war on the working class in general and the North of England and South Wales in particular.

How is Hell, Mrs Thatcher?

Oops, I’ve let my politics bubble up for a second…. Sorry; but please allow me one little dig, to make up for the years of having our face rubbed in it by her and her city boys. I’m sure she wasn’t far away from using the army, but even her spineless cabinet wouldn’t have let her do that.

The city Thatcher couldn't break... Liverpool has made a brave recovery, but there is still a lot to do.

The city Thatcher couldn’t break… Liverpool has made a brave recovery, but there is still a lot to do.

Fortunately I have found a Pret à Manger, here! Those who know me will chuckle at this because I am always singing their praises, mainly for the friendly staff and ability to sell filter coffee at 99p per cup! If one adds free wifi to that it is a perfect recipe for keeping out of the Liverpool rain and waxing lyrical for you, dear reader!

So over the next few weeks I will be familiarising myself with this fair city and reporting back to you! Actually it is part of my own ‘Magical mystery tour’ as I will be moving onto Manchester afterwards for a further two weeks.

Old and New... The famous Liver Building dwarves the modern development along the redundant Liverpool docks.

Old and New… The famous Liver Building dwarves the modern development along the redundant Liverpool docks.

Winter has yet to show her teeth thus far. Surely it is only a matter of time? This Viking Queen carries on her travelling, finding serendipity around every corner, so it seems. I have met so many lovely folk since being back in the UK, but also sadness with the ending of other friendships. I wonder about the nature of pride and how destructive it can be… From Mrs Thatcher to those closer. Thankfully, common sense usually holds sway and most folk are able to laugh at their own absurdity, particularly those who have had to struggle for their freedom, and have become true adults. Some, have much to learn about humility and respect.

Bless you one and all.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another place, another Youth Hostel.

  1. cornishtim says:

    Will your travels bring you to Cornwall?

  2. christian says:

    love the background pic of fab four at hostel, shame about mod buildings hiding the lovely views old buildings in your picture . the new buildings dont seem to have any character look all the same square boxs with glass – enjoy liverpoooooooooool. dont forget to say hello to liverbirds.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Consider it done Chris… Pret Picture coming! Very warm here. Maybe magical mystery tour tomorrow! Must check pennies first and I don’t mean Penny Lane! Maritime Museum this afternoon.. It’s free!!!

  3. Michael Murphy says:

    Dear Poppy,

    it sounds like you might be doing a tour of Britain.

    That would be really interesting : like the Tour de Grande-Bretagne.Without the bike !

    I think there was a book published recently (last year or before) buy someone who did this.

    A good idea for a book (you would do a very different “take” I am sure).

    Yours, Mike

    Quoting mar, 21 jan 2014 “A Viking Saga: no one here gets out

    • Viking Queen says:

      Now that’s an idea! I had thought of cycling between hostels heading North to Scotland, pulling my luggage in a trailer of sorts. Maybe a week in each hostel and spending a year or even more; however I can’t leave Free for that long. But who knows… The future maybe?

Leave a Reply

