A tale of two cities…

Life is never dull in my universe. Nothing ever pans out normally or predictably, and just when you think you know somebody, karma rises up and bites you back.

Amsterdam as usual, turned out to be a two faced beast where I lost a friend, got to know one on a deeper level, and was saved from a tricky situation by the beautiful selflessness of another… And all in space of five days! Much that I love this quirky city, it  obviously doesn’t like me. Over the past two years it has been the scene of heartbreak, bitter cold, theft and sheer endurance.

I don’t intend to elaborate on the details of loss due to loyalty for one of my dearest friends, but it is a bitter pill indeed to lose the respect for one who you thought you knew…

Financially, the whole period was a disaster, as I had to escape from the city by train and then rebook a coach for a ridiculous short term price. So all in all a disaster….

Until an old friend from Spain came to my aid and invited me to Brussels.

Christian to the rescue! A sacred reunion with a very special man...

Christian to the rescue!
A sacred reunion with a very special man..

Christian, is the epitome of goodness, a Belgian African from the Congo (now Zaire). He is involved in many projects in South America, helping people feed themselves, as well as conserving wildlife in Peruvian Amazonia. I met him in Leòn during the Camino period and we remained in contact; however, I never thought he would want to keep in touch with me. This global adventurer, is always on the move, especially in South America where he has a house in the Amazon near Iquitos, Peru. He also lives in Brussels and it was here that I escaped to from Amsterdam.

It is a risky move to accept the invitation of a man you have only known briefly, but my heart felt that this was someone immensely special, a rare man in a treacherous world. So it was a wonderful surprise to end my latest European sojourn in such company, safe and respected.

Now I am in the Megabus on my way back to London at the end of an emotional whirlwind! However I would like to thank three people especially:

Firstly Carro, for her understanding in a very difficult situation; secondly, Maya, for putting me up for one night on New Year’s Eve, thus preventing a nasty night out in the open; and finally to Christian for his warmth, respect and love.

I am one lucky Viking, for sure!

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A tale of two cities…

  1. Michael Murphy says:

    Dear Poppy,

    glad to hear there were good times as well as bad.

    In 2014, I wish you the strength of mind and heart (if they are not the same) to keep on tasting with equal desire the salt and the sugar of life.

    Yours, Mike

    Quoting sam, 04 jan 2014 “A Viking Saga: no one here gets out

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you Mike. The same also to you as the year, like rebirth, begins again…
      Who knows what it will bring…
      It could be anything!

  2. christian says:

    Sending hug c u soon glad another christian came to your rescue

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you my other Christian!
      Yes, life is pull of strange happenings. How little control we actually have!
      See you soon.

  3. Simona says:

    I have always admired your strength of character and resilience. Talk soon.

    • Viking Queen says:

      And don’t forget luck!
      I seem to be like the proverbial cat… But now I’ve lost count!
      Let’s meet soon… Let me know when.

  4. Lucy says:

    Another exciting adventure! glad to hear you came out smelling of roses . . . again. All the very best for another exciting year, with more changes to come. xxxx

  5. Bernadette Preben Hansen says:

    Beste Poppie,
    Would you mind to send me an e-mail?
    Best regards,
    Bernadette

  6. Glad to hear that you are safe and had an eventful New Year. Bad experiences are unfortunate but have taught me valuable lessons, when viewed in hindsight. (it is always difficult to think this when you are going through it). Control is an interesting topic. I see people obsessed with control suffering, especially, mentally. Much better to ‘go with the flow’ (but of course, easier said than done). Thank goodness your spirit remains positive. Can’t wait for the next thrilling chapter of life’s adventure.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Happy new year, Amanda. All in all a positive experience, especially with Christian. The purging of unhealthy relationships is also necessary in one’s path if continued spiritual growth is required. Sometimes you have to ‘rattle a cage’ to find the true nature of the beast, in all walks of life and it requires courage. Action is the cornerstone of my life, inwards and outwards, and I love the ‘cut and thrust’ of it all!

Leave a Reply

