What now?

Well another one of my aims has been achieved… Another goal; a dream?

I have been silent for a while now (not silent in my everyday life, but in the blogosphere). Quite honestly, it has been difficult to know what to say…

So this is a way to stay in touch with you all, to convey what is happening in this woman’s universe.

Back in the world. Christian and I went to Camden market in London and came across a cafe with my name on it!

Back in the world. Christian and I went to Camden market in London and came across a cafe with my name on it!

I wasn’t sure what to expect on arrival back in England. Lille proved a relaxing few days with my dear friend Mike after the coach ride from hell, twenty six hours from Santiago. Quite honestly, an immediate return to London would have been difficult, and a cultural buffer in the more gentle confines of Northern France was a boon.

Life in youth hostels has been interesting and not unlike the Albergues I was used to in Spain; however London has taken a piece out of me since my return and I have lost my hard edge since the Camino finished. I really miss my compañeros and the wonderful walking.

The Camino continues... Somehow it is more vital now, even here in London.

The Camino continues… Somehow it is more vital now, even here in London.

I have changed, that’s for sure. My mental toughness has diminished somewhat as I try to live through the heart, but I am struggling…

Still my shell remains on my backpack and I walk everyday through the city. I feel the motion is necessary to help my reintroduction to the world that used to be mine. Maybe in time that will return, but for now it’s just not happening. The Camino seems to have become internal. It isn’t over yet; but will it ever be?

Modern life has rushed back into my universe and it’s as if I have been born into a new era. The aggression, anger and pain of folk here is easy to see… Did I really notice it before? I can’t truly remember, but still find myself keeping out of the way, trying to avoid impact and adding to the collective angst.

Oh poor, precious world, what can I do to help you? Is there anything? No… Not really… Just stay out of the way and do no harm. Be happy, be grateful.

Be free… Be me.

just… BE… 

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What now?

  1. Maggie97520 says:

    The Camino lives on in all of us. Missing you, fellow pilgrims and the Way, too and I am already dreaming of a return trip to Spain next fall.

  2. Sarah Noss says:

    I know what you mean, Pilgrim. Coming back is challenging, as is figuring out how to integrate all that happened internally and externally on the Camino. I find myself thinking about it alot. Sending you lots of love!

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you Peregrina. How I’d love to have a coffee now with you, back on the Meseta and just talk and be… Take care my sister.

  3. So good to hear you are still moving forward. We are but one insignificant moment in time. However, that moment is our all. Once again, we have to refuse to be swept up in that vortex. But rather, draw on our strength to endure.

    • Viking Queen says:

      I don’t know if one can apply direction and time to any of this. They are material restraints. A spiritual journey relinquishes the clock… That is a man-made constraint, all part of ‘Caesar’s kingdom’ if you will. The whole past year has left me feeling ageless and timeless. And if we are made in the image of god, then isn’t every breath and moment of huge significance? You can tell I’m no Darwinian! But consciousness is truly significant in this trivial material existence that so many folk live. So forward or backward. I prefer fluid, alive and in love. Good to hear from you again, Amanda.

  4. Seawarrior says:

    Good luck back in civilization. Nice to know that the Camino and other adventures are there when you need them.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks. I feel it’s like a roller-coaster… Once you start to expand there’s no turning back. I suppose it’s a Pandora’s box of sorts.

  5. cornishtim says:

    Just be.
    Sounds good.
    Heightened perceptions, strong emotion – can be bliss or very painful.

  6. Viking Queen says:

    You know the truth, my friend… Me thinks you’ve been there yourself!

  7. Lucy says:

    ‘Just be …the change you want to see in the world’ I remember the feeling of dislocation coming back into ‘normal’ life after spending days at free festivals, quite surreal and sadly disappointing for a while. Good to hear from you Poppy, yup, what is next???? xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hey my lovely friend! oh Lucy… Next is now, it’s all revolving like a cosmic carousel! I’m breathless with the ride. Time is fading at last… Now is here!!! Love you.

      • Lucy says:

        Me you too ❤ missed seeing you this summer, hope to see you sometime soon. I'm living in Levkas now btw, finally got a garden 🙂 still sewing boat covers tho,… ho hum, lol 🙂 xxxx

      • Viking Queen says:

        Nice vibe Levkas… Lots happening and … Hey boat covers? Why not? Garden… Big step forward, that’s good. Enjoy. Xxxxx

  8. christain says:

    u will always be you and free just looking for the next turn in life which will come without u knowing it and another adventure will start and u will write about it and keep us all in the loop waiting for the next chapter to appear.

    • Viking Queen says:

      A nice thought Chris. Really enjoyed Camden market! Yes we’re all on some kind of journey, I suppose. Who’s to say where? Even those who are static and hiding from life will have to face the ultimate challenge… death. As the late, great Jim Morrison of the Doors said: “No one here gets out alive!”

  9. rollinwithcarro says:

    To be you and be free is the way to go. The streesful world gets more obvious after a long time away from real civilization. To see stress, and pain in our modern life hurts as there is so much more out there. freedom, love and the sea….. Life has a piece of everything…. For everyone

Leave a Reply

