This pilgrim’s prayer…

Tonight I have reached Valdearcos one day’s walk from León; a long walk along an old Roman road that stretched from Bordeaux to the mines of Asturas where gold was procured for the empire. León itself, means legion, and was named for the Romans stationed there, and like most armies, they were there to protect the rich and powerful.

The long straight Roman road to León.

The long straight Roman road to León.

I have met many people and and experienced much in these last few weeks, so I have decided to produce my own ‘pilgrim’s prayer’; it reflects my slant on this Camino.

For those fellow peregrinos who walk this road, I give thanks.

For the sun and the rain that accompanies me, I give thanks.

For the man who showed me the way through Sahagún and shared his food with me, I give thanks.

For the person who threw my clothes from the washing line onto the ground in the Albergue at Caladilla de la Cueza, I give thanks.

For the pilgrim who paid for my meal one night when I had no money, I give thanks.

For the village of St Juan de Ortega, and it’s negative energy, I give thanks.

For the giant Meseta skies of the Castille, I give thanks.

For the pilgrims who did not want my company, yet were still accepting, I give thanks.

For the party and good company in Hontanas, I give thanks.

For the flies that followed and annoyed me, I give thanks.

For the sun that set among the prayers at Bercianos del Real Camino, I give thanks.

For the stone heart and the poppy on the roadside in Rioja, an answer to my prayers, I give thanks.

For the donativo which had a vegetarian alternative in the evening, I give thanks.

For the chance to walk the Camino and experience the light, I give thanks.

For all of the above… I am truly blessed.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to This pilgrim’s prayer…

  1. Simona says:

    Beautiful and sincere. Your prayer has the poignancy and simplicity of The Canticle of the Creatures by St Francis of Assisi. Only the profound spiritual experience you are living could have inspired it.

    S. x

  2. christian says:

    as stated by simona above words say it all, and who throw your washing on the ground that was not nice like when your are using a dryer and they take out your damp washing and put theirs in. hope all is well your end.off work at the moment with gastric flu.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Yes, I know, but it is all part of the greater picture… Even they are on the journey and that’s what is so profound!

  3. Michael Murphy says:

    Thanks, Poppy.

    Yours, Mike

  4. Christian says:

    boring stuff hope ok and that the weather is not as bad there as here, keep on walking and take care
    Cx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Weather closing in Chris… Big black clouds are rolling across the hills of Galicia. Rain is inevitable for the final third of the pilgrimage. Time to ‘man up’ and batten down the hatches!

  5. It seems to sum up the entire experience and I admire you for seeing the positive in every situation, even the negatives.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you Amanda… Yes, there are so many lessons and it can be tough at times, but one has to see the whole!

  6. Seawarrior says:

    What an interesting blog! I envy you. You seem to have a great handle on life. You are living it fully. I hope I can learn a bit from you.

    I look forward to catching up on your previous postings and vicariously seeing the world through your future missives.

    Buen Camino,
    Michael

  7. Chauncey & Anne Bancroft says:

    Enjoying your Camino journal (met you in Sahagun at La Cofiteria one morning). Have a great Christmas/Solstice! The Old Couple (our Camino journal is on http://www.trailjournals.com)

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hello,
      Yes I remember you well! As I recall you were from Maine, is that correct? Lovely to meet you that time… Instant empathy! Have a lovely christmas

      • Chauncey & Anne Bancroft says:

        .You have a good memory! We are from Maine (tho at the moment we’re in Florida for the winter Maine being covered in ice!)

        “Free” looks like a great boat to sail in northern waters and to live aboard….

        We ended our Camino this time in Leon. We hope to go back in the spring & do Leon to Sarria (we’ve done Sarria to Santiago). We go very slow but all the better to stop in lots of cafe’s!!!

        You were one of the few vegetarians we met on the Camino…and also the only player/fan of celtic/folk music!

        Hope you can get to Maine some time. We used to have a sailboat ourselves there but don’t have it any longer but there are great hikes, mountains, views, ferries to different islands….

        Have a great New Year’s eve and New Year!

      • Viking Queen says:

        Yes I remember you well. I wish we had met again for it would have been pleasant to continue our conversation at the end of the day, with more time!
        I would love to visit New England and Eastern Canada one day. It looks so beautiful in photographs. Have a wonderful Yule and New year.

Leave a Reply

