And the autumn wind doth blow…

Hello from Spain my friends. Tonight I find myself in the small town of Carrón de Los Condes on the road to León.

Entering the new province of Palencia.

Entering the new province of Palencia.

Once again Kevin from Chicago has become my walking partner in this strange fusion of liaisons previously mentioned. I must apologise about the frequency of the journal entries thus far, but the Camino is not like a long voyage so there are short, intense changes in incidents and places. So please bear with me, as it is necessary to report fairly often to remain relevant.  I guess you all know where the ‘off switch is’ should you tire of a cluttered inbox!

Kevin's lovely photograph at dawn as we leave the tiny village of Itero de la Vega. No breakfast was available, hence the early start!

Kevin’s lovely photograph at dawn as we leave the tiny village of Itero de la Vega. No breakfast was available, hence the early start!

Palencia is a part of The Junta of Castilla and León and is similar with the wide open country shown in the above photograph. It is well farmed with wheat and the occasional orchard, but nearly every square hectare seems farmed. Boring is a word that could be used to describe the endless straight track that tends to follow the main road towards León, but it is yet another lesson that the Camino has to teach… Staying in present time.

The lovely Meseta country is now behind us, my favourite section so far, but it isn’t all monotony, I managed to pick up an alternative route following the River Usieza which presented me with a truly delightful chance to camp for a night.

The perfect camping experience, but my goodness was it a cold evening!

The perfect camping experience, but my goodness was it a cold evening!

This was the first very cold night, and as the sun set a brisk, chilly wind increased; I was soon cuddling up in my sleeping bag before nine o’clock! There was actually frost on the ground the following morning!

it seems that Kevin and I are destined to meet and even when we walk alone, the Camino has other plans. That is the way of it… I wonder what the next lesson will be?

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And the autumn wind doth blow…

  1. christian says:

    by looking at the camping picture looks really nice and not cold but pictures can lie.hope you packed a thermal vest. beware of the cold weather coming. carry on walking and enjoy the next lesson
    Cx

  2. Sue says:

    Hey Pops, just back in UK and trying to explain to my mum what you are up to, have put your journey onto a map so she can see what a long way you’ve gone, and in so many ways. go Poppy go, lots of love m&s x

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks… And love to your Mum! I don’t know how to do that bit unfortunately. Please let me know your news when you have time. X

  3. No tiring of the inbox here!

  4. Carole Walker says:

    rThanks Poppy for your excellent journal , it makes me want to be young again and have the long lost discipline to embark on such a long and exciting walk. May the the Gods go with you. Best love Carole.

  5. vickyinglis says:

    Loving hearing about your hike. Best wishes for the rest of the Camino.

Leave a Reply

