Meanwhile, back at the ranch!

Today I have crossed the Mesata to the west of Burgos, which is exactly as its Spanish meaning implies: a table-like plateau. This lovely open landscape has a chilly breeze blowing across it, and Autumn is definitely evident now.

A shepherd and his dog grace the Mesata country to the wet of Burgos. Notice the stone shrines so typical of the Camino.

A shepherd and his dog grace the Mesata country to the wet of Burgos. Notice the stone shrines so typical of the Camino.

This country reminds a little of the beautiful remote Northumbrian country to the north of Newcastle and the chill resembles early summer in those parts. Somebody asked me if I was cold walking in shorts when I reached the village of Hontanas and I had to laugh! Cold? You have no idea! Take a walk with me in Northumbria… I’ll show you cold!

And so today I am stopping early in Hontanas, having met up with Kevin again.

Meeting up with Kevin again was great! He makes me laugh so much!

Meeting up with Kevin again was great! He makes me laugh so much!

I’m really trying to slow down, but I still manage to cover too much distance! Is this some kind of Camino miracle perhaps? On the subject of miracles, I came across a shrine to my favourite goddess/saint in Hontanas, Brigid, who helps poets and writers. She has always been an inspiration to me in my darkest moments and I took this as a sign to stop early for some prayer and contemplation.

St Brigid's shrine was a sign for me to stop early today.

St Brigid’s shrine was a sign for me to stop early today.

And now to the real reason for this post… Gratitude to a lovely man who has enabled me to walk this Camino in the first place… Micke Van Ewijk. While I have been walking this path and reconnecting to the sacred in my life, Micke has been supervising the lifting ashore of my beloved Free. 

Yes, as Sweden slowly succumbs to the inevitability of the approaching winter tide, Micke has worked tirelessly to remove Free’s mast and lift her to safety.

There she is! A big thank you to Micke for his great work.

There she is! A big thank you to Micke for his great work.

The Camino almost seems to invite one to walk it… how could I have done this without firstly meeting Carro and Danne in Amsterdam? Through them I met Micke, and now I have the time and the money. It all fits!

Let’s go further another step… Everything you are able to do is due to someone else’s sacrifice. The nature of gratitude is thus great indeed.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meanwhile, back at the ranch!

  1. christian says:

    what a nice surprise to see/find st brigid’s for you and you stopped for while and meet up with kevin again, do hope his toothach is now gone or been seen too, as i sit trying to type while babysitting the boys while kerri and joe has date night, have jack on my lap showing him the picture of free and he is touching the screen, glad she is out safe and sound,micke has done a lovely job. slow down women you are going too fast you are not on a route march – enjoy each moment as you might only come this way once.
    Cx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Yes, Micke has done a great job. Kevin seems to be coping well and the weather is still holding up. The next big town is León, but there is still a long way to go. Px

  2. Christine says:

    Good ol’ Brigid and Kevin, keeping our intrepid friend happy. Still with ya Poppy xxx

  3. Lucy says:

    Re your comment about gratitude; aint that the truth. All the best Poppy xxx

Leave a Reply

