Hola Pamplona!!!

Across the sweltering foothills of Navarra and down into the ancient city of Pamplona…

And so ends the third day on the Camino!

My friend Mel took this of me standing outside the Albergue Jesus y Maria in Pamplona.

My friend Mel took this of me standing outside the Albergue Jesus y Maria in Pamplona.

I still can’t believe I am even on the Camino after all these years, and to have reached Pamplona is surreal. Today I walked with an American lady called Mel who hails from New Mexco. We battled through temperatures in excess of thirty degrees and finally arrived in the famous walled city late in the afternoon; however, first I must tell you of an emotional start to my journey, and for that we return to the beginning in St Jean Pied de Port…

In Biarritz I bumped into the lovely couple Michael and Marriange, both Australian but originating from Belfast and Mauritius respectively. We stuck together and shared a night in a bizarre hostel with an eccentric hostess who shooed us out into a rainy misty morning to begin the climb up into the Pyrenees and the famous ‘Route de Napoleon’.

Michael took this on the top of the Pyrennees and it captures the magic of our crossing into Navarra, Spain.

Michael took this on the top of the Pyrennees and it captures the magic of our crossing into Navarra, Spain.

Michael and Marriange battled heroically to reach Roncevalles but unfortunately were not able to continue the next day due to their physical condition. Many folk over extend themselves at this stage and need to rest up to recover. Happily for me, my training helped me to complete it and continue.

Sadly, I had to say goodbye to my wonderful friends, but there’s no doubt that we will meet again one day. The Camino has the uncanny knack of bringing folk together. It is said that the Camino ‘walks you’ rather than you walking ‘it’. I think I am beginning to understand exactly what that means!

The end of the road... My good friends waiting for the bus in Roncevalles. I will miss their special company.

The end of the road… My good friends waiting for the bus in Roncevalles. I will miss their special company.

Tonight I am a little stiff but still in fine fettle. I wonder what the Camino will teach me next?

I hope you will all walk with me. It is so lovely to receive your messages. Please stay with me until the end…

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Hola Pamplona!!!

  1. Michael Murphy says:

    Dear Poppy,

    “Keep right on to the end of the road……..”

    Yours, Mike

    • Viking Queen says:

      Keep right on the end!

      ‘We’re on the road to god knows where…. We’re on the one road, it maybe the wrong road, but we’re together now who cares?……..’

  2. Lynda Hulme says:

    We’re with you Poppy, all the way. God Bless. Lynda and Tony xxx

  3. Simona says:

    Hey, Poppy, I recognise the denim shorts you’re wearing in the first picture! Who says that ‘summer’s almost gone’? Very well done for your efforts thus fur.

    Simona x

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hmm… They are a little too short perhaps! Just stopped early in a small hamlet called Uterga just south of Puenta La Reina. I need to slow right down or I’ll finish too early!

  4. Seems like a few Aussies trek those Camino trails. I have a danish friend who walked it, a couple of years ago, lost her walking partner, on the first day, then befriended some Aussies, and met up again with her walking partner by accident at the end. Since then, the Aussies and her have become extremely close friends, so the Camino does bring people together. Love those mountains with the low cloud: Gorgeous!! The eccentric hostel hostess will make a good story for the dinner table. Can’t wait for the second Camino update. I wonder who you will meet this time.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Yes, there’s a real international field, but surprisingly few English folk, which is odd. Just stopped early today because I’m going too fast!

  5. Tim says:

    Just discovered your blog. I’m engrossed. And impressed.
    Will read your eBook next.
    You’re my hero!

  6. christian says:

    who wears short shorts,well queen of the road glad that all is going well and that again meeting wonderful people on your walk, enjoy and hope the weather cools down a bit make sure you drink enough water. wait more updates and pictures.
    C x

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Chris… Sound advice as usual. Too short? Oh, what the hell, you only live once! It’s not like I’m on a pilgrimage or anything! Ooooops!

  7. Christine says:

    I smiled and smiled whilst reading your post and getting lost in the photographs. Stunning, Breathtaking, Amazing! I’m with you every step of the way my dear Poppy ‘Viking Queen Extraordinaire’,
    Till the end xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Kind words, Christine… Knowing this makes it all worthwhile. So many amazing folk in this world. I am lucky to know you all.

  8. Cheers Poppy! Great to see/hear your latest and the folk you are befriending,also it seems miraculous to have such recent bulletins! Keep them going as well as your indomitable self!
    Lucky you with the weather so far in spite of that heat.
    A gentle autumn seems to have arrived here.
    Over to you and take care,You’ll certainly make it but take it easy!!
    Love,
    Ruth

  9. Glad to read of your exceptional journey Poppy. We are having an amazing journey too. Morocco was brilliant and now Egypt. Next Cyprus. Covering the miles and meeting great folks. Quite a few adventures along the way and my leg is better and not giving me too much trouble. Back packs still as full but we are used to them now ! You have my email, drop a line when you get to the end. Will keep on following you. Bonne chance.

    • Viking Queen says:

      So lovely to receive your message!!! I think of you both often. I have just arrived in Sahagún just before León. Wish you were here, but glad you are enjoying your holiday! Px

Leave a Reply

