Time to ‘walk the talk’!

Well here I am in Biarritz with the wind and rain driving in from the Bay of Biscay just a mile yonder.

Needless to say, I am worn out after my coach and train ride, but the thought of tomorrow’s journey up to St Jean Pied de Port in the mountains is a wee bit daunting.

Image

Paris, on the Champs Élysées between my Coach and train journeys, trying to look tres French in my stripy t-shirt! A kind lady took time out to take this for me. Merci!

So this is it… The talking has finished and the walking begins… I have to admit to being quite nervous, especially with the weather, because I particularly want to walk across the Pyrenees via the ‘Route Napoleon’, and down into Roncevalles; however the alternative will be a monotonous trudge following the road…. Not nice.

Please keep writing, for your messages are a real morale booster. I’m not sure how often Ill be able to pick them up in the following weeks but I’ll try my best to respond.

If you can, please spare a quick thought for me on Friday morning, because that’s the day I climb up into the Pyrenees. The weeks of training will hopefully help, but I am not as fit as I used to be so the future is uncharted territory. One thing is for sure… I’ll give it my best shot!

Who knows what will be revealed!

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Time to ‘walk the talk’!

  1. Lynda Hulme says:

    Go for it Gal! Thinking of you, (especially on Friday) All our love Tony and Lynda xxx

  2. Michael Murphy says:

    So, that’s here you are, Poppy !

    Good luck on the way to FINISTERRE …. “it’s a long, long way from here to there…..Ooooo Lisdo…….. !”

    From the Star of the Sea to the Star of the Field…..

    I was in Irun on the way back to France, not so far from where you are.

    Yours, Mike

    • Viking Queen says:

      And Frehilliana is just over the border!!!

      Thanks Mke. I can’t help feeling a little nervous right now!

      Can I visit you in Lille end of October/ November?

  3. Sanne says:

    He Poppy, wow that a whole new kind of adventure! 🙂 Maybe when you come close to the bay you can see us sailing by on the horizon, we are now in Scheveningen, tomorrow heading south. Go for it ans have a nice walk!
    x Sanne

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hi Sanne,
      Lovely to receive a message! Where are you going?
      I will think of you and pray for your wonderful voyage.
      Met vriendelijk
      Poppy

  4. Christian says:

    the weather won’t stop you, you are build of strong stock, take care
    Cx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Chris… Tyneside Irish huh? With a hefty lump of Viking added! Yep… There’s really no excuse! Waiting for the St Jean train now at Biarritz station. Found a hotspot!
      Take care and cuddle those babies for me!!! Px

  5. Simona says:

    I shall be with you in spirit, Poppy. May the Pyrenees and weather be kind to you!

    Simona x

  6. Bring it on! You are ready! It will be a fantastic adventure, and think of Pippi when the way gets difficult!! We will “see” you at the next hotspot!

  7. Christine says:

    I’ll be right behind you Poppy, along with all your cyber supportees! The Pyrenees will be a breeze for our Viking Queen…but I’ll pray for your strength and resolve on Friday. No matter what, you are a living legend in my world. Love love love to you, Christine xxxxxxxx

  8. hollydavenport@waitrose.com says:

    Your thigh muscles will be revealed, that's what!!!!  Keep in mind, all the way up, that sometimes the coming down could be worse…… happy hiking!

    Holly

  9. rollinwithcarro says:

    Just go for it, everything that you wnat to do, you can do. We are following you up the Pyrenees. Love Danne , Carro & Melvin

  10. andyh2oski says:

    Hi Poppie! It was a pleasure meeting you in Paris — and thank you for saving me from the café lady. Have a wonderful journey and I look forward to hearing from you. Your new friend in Acworth, Georgia, US. Andy Rose

Leave a Reply

