The Final Sunset.

So this is my final post from Sweden as I shall return to England on Thursday. Free will stay here in Borka Brygga until next May, under the capable supervision of Micke Vanewijk and his friend Jan Erik…

I know my sturdy little sailer is in a good place, and as if to confirm this, I was almost brought to my knees by a breathtaking sunset, a spectral display that had me frozen in awe. I shall miss these evenings, for they have washed my soul in healing light since arriving in the Southern Baltic. My gratitude is endless.

The final sunset: The Gods treated me to a spectacular, spectral crescendo, my last one in Borka Brygga.

The final sunset: The Gods treated me to a spectacular, spectral crescendo, my last one in Borka Brygga.

Micke invited me to his amazing house nearby, for dinner, and it was lovely to meet his daughter Tova again. The food was wonderful and one of Micke’s many talents, along with carpentry and all things ‘boaty’.

Tova and I are doing 'girly' things together!

Tova and I are doing ‘girly’ things together!

After a stunning fettuccine, we all relaxed on a warm evening as the light faded and the shade slowly surrounded us from the forest. This beautiful little place is so quiet that it is rare to even hear a car. I have hardly been near a town for weeks now and the edgy, noisy vibe is not high on my list of ‘things missed’.

'Father and daughter': Micke and Tova enjoying quality time together.

‘Father and daughter’: Micke and Tova enjoying quality time together.

Before long the dusk had enveloped us and Micke suggested that I should stay for the night as the house also caters for ‘Bed and Breakfast’. So, a rare opportunity to sleep in a bed on land was accepted gratefully and after a restful night, I awoke to a glorious, hot late Summer’s day with a perfect, cloudless blue sky. We sat outside drinking coffee, watching butterflies and dragonflies dancing among the flowers, while I cuddled the two cats. Time flew by and suddenly it was the afternoon! Time to return to Free.

A lazy cycle ride back to the little harbour. Sheer bliss!

A lazy cycle ride back to the little harbour. Sheer bliss!

The only real problem I have here is the distances away from purchasing the items needed to prepare Free for winter. Once again, Micke came to the rescue by picking up eight litres of glycol, anti-freeze, enabling me to prepare the engine for temperatures that will be as low as minus forty degrees! It is hard to believe while cycling past beautiful flowers, watching the butterflies dance and play as the scent of pine washes over one’s senses, that the cold shroud of winter will soon drown Northern Sweden in a mantle of frigid ferocity. An unprotected engine will be food and drink for the ice spirits and their playful malevolence.

'Gretel' has her last chance to grace the roads of Northern Sweden before being interred inside 'Free' for the winter.

‘Gretel’ has her last chance to grace the roads of Northern Sweden before being interred inside ‘Free’ for the winter.

Tomorrow night Micke will give me a lift into Hudiksvall where I will board a train for Arlanda, Stockholm’s airport. The following morning at seven o’clock, hopefully, I shall be elevated into the sky and Sweden shall slowly fade away into the past, until next year. Before too long it will be time…

To be a pilgrim…

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Final Sunset.

  1. Lynda Hulme says:

    Another chapter of your life closes whilst another one awaits you Poppy. Enjoy your rest my love and keep safe. Much, much love. Tony and Lynda xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thank you…
      Your kind words, motivation, humour and compassion have been priceless. You’ll hear from my pilgrimage!

  2. Sniff sniff, endings are so sad, but this one is only temporary, I hope! Safe journey until we chat again!

    • Viking Queen says:

      Of course! The local journalist wants to cover my further (I hope) progress (how I hate that word!) northwards. But don’t forget I’ll try and send from the Camino. It has been lovely to have your company Amanda, thank you.

  3. And that sunset was divine!! A fitting goodbye!

  4. Michael Murphy says:

    Wow……….. !

    Yours, Mike

  5. christian says:

    what pretty colours in the sunset, again wonderful photo’s – tell micke what a beautiful daughter he has going by two snaps shown. time will fly and you will be back with free before you know it. have a safe flight see you soon
    cx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Chris…
      Yes it’s true and Tova is a lovely person too, really responsible and kind. At Arlanda now see you soon.

Leave a Reply

