And so to Poland…

I have finally reached Swinoujscie in Poland, having had a wonderful engine-free sail from my anchorage on the west side of Stettiner Haff (the inland sea that divides Germany and Poland) to the breakwater and eventually the town itself…

Approaching the harbour at Swinoujscie, my first taste of Poland

Approaching the harbour at Swinoujscie, my first taste of Poland

Marvellous stuff indeed!

I left Stralsund and sailed south through a beautiful part of Germany known as the Peenestrom, arriving at the sweet little Hanseatic town of Wolgast. The whole area to the west of Rugen down to the Stenniner Haff, form the German version of our Norfolk Broads, but on a much larger scale. It is possible to lose oneself for weeks if desired.

Under sail on the beautiful Peenstrom between Stralsund and Wolgast.

Under sail on the beautiful Peenstrom between Stralsund and Wolgast.

One has to sail with real care as there are channels all the way through, and any deviation will bring you to a grinding halt in the soft oozy mud! Peenemunde is where the Nazis developed the rocket during the last war and the whole area has a strange sense of isolation. I have to say that it has been a wonderful experience after the awesome approach to Hiddensee and its storms. Now it is ferociously hot and still, with just enough breeze to sail.

One of the great advantages of the Peenestrom are the wonderful anchorages, allowing me to blissfully fuse with the elements and meditate on peace and quiet, away from the madness of the modern world with all its grasping materialism and time-keeping.

A small freighter glides past my anchorage on the Peenestrom.

A small freighter glides past my anchorage on the Peenestrom.

After living off my anchor for a while, I decided to fill up with provisions at the delightful Wolgast. I had found the over-touristy Stralsund quite disappointing and was glad to swing off my anchor there, saving more and more money. One night I spent a while calculating how much money I have saved over the years by using my anchor and it runs into the thousands of pounds!

Wolgast: A lovely little town with an authentic Hanseatic feel. No ugly marinas here... a proper harbour front just like the old days.

Wolgast: A lovely little town with an authentic Hanseatic feel. No ugly marinas here… a proper harbour front just like the old days. The hafenmeister was a gentleman and made me feel most welcome at a reasonable tariff. It wouldn’t have surprised me if the Pied Piper suddenly walked past!

Eventually I arrived on the western edge of the inland sea, leaving me just enough distance to reach Poland in one day, approximately thirty nautical miles. I dropped my anchor by an old destroyed railway bridge near Zecherin (A relic from the last war destroyed by the allies in a raid.) The holding ground was excellent, but if I had known what would happen later, I may have opted to find a harbour somewhere… but hindsight is always easy.

At about two in the morning I was awoken by a massive thunder and lightning storm, with forks hitting the water and the trees all around. I didn’t know whether to be scared or exhilarated! I decided on both! Memories of being hit off the south coast of Italy back in 2008, left me praying for salvation.

The following morning greeted me with a stiff Sou’sou’easterly and soon I was sailing as close-hauled to the wind as possible at a good five knots, quite fast enough for two old ladies like us!

‘Free’ close-hauled and sailing beautifully on her way towards Poland.

And so to Poland… Thirty glorious nautical miles under sail!

Well done ‘Free’!

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to And so to Poland…

  1. Simona says:

    Poppy, your maritime achievements never stop to amaze me.

    S. x

    Beneath, the azure current flows,
    Above, the golden sunlight streaks:—
    But restless, into the storm it goes,
    As if in storms there is peace!

    by Mikhail Lermontov

  2. rollinwithcarro says:

    Hi!! I am so happy tou made it to Poland, what a wonderful sailing, we are in markemeer now and fixing up the boat before Sweden with some serious shopping in the watersport winkel. miss you a lot

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hi Carro, a big well done for your great sailing!!!! I knew you could do it. Danny is right, you are going to be good and he’s going to need you on the way to Sweden.
      True grit my Viking sister!!!!!!!!!

  3. D says:

    Caroline made oranijesluis and left the ponton at Hetjacht and hade the helm al the way to we made fast at the verening zuderzee.
    port to port thru a lock,impressive don`t you think.
    A lot of close quater handling.
    Soon she`s as god as you,viking sailor.

    god to here that your spirit is high i was worried when you were in kielcanal.

    danny boy xxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hey Danny,
      That is very impressive. You make a good team and I can’t wait to hear your adventures!
      Go Vikings!!!!!!!!

  4. Marco says:

    Fine to read u have ur good feelings back 😉
    I don’t post much often here but i read every story.
    Keep goin and take care Poppy.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Hi Marco,
      Really glad you’re following the voyage. It’s thanks to you guys that I’m here at all!
      Please give my regards to Markus and Dennis, and also Leon (if possible).
      Take care, I’ll never forget you.

  5. Lynda Hulme says:

    Well done you clever lady you. Much love. Tony and Lynda xxx

  6. Viking Queen says:

    My most loyal followers. How long has it been since Sardinia? Thanks for your continuous support and good wishes. I’m always grateful x

  7. lulu says:

    Well done both of you, what a team!! the whole voyage will make a great book with you as the author, I look forward to reading it 😉
    xxxxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks Lucy… It’s been a roller coaster that’s for sure! I don’t know how much more I can handle… Once again it is the money. I haven’t really recover from the ‘Helgoland affair’.

  8. lulu says:

    Oh and by the way, now you’re in Poland check out a wonderful Polish band called Kroke and as you’re travelling further north check out an amazing Laplandia woman called Mari Boine Person, she’s a shamanic singer, if such a thing exists, she and her band make fantastic music. xxxxx

  9. Viking Queen says:

    The language and the sheer difficulty of trying to get around here will render the former impossible, Lucy. It’s a full time job just surviving right now!

Leave a Reply

