How Long is a piece of string?

The verdict….

Not guilty!!!

This will be the final post for a while now as I have bombarded you all somewhat of late. I thought I should reveal the results of the diving today and tell you all that there is no apparent damage.

Jock suits up, ready to make the dive under 'Free'.

Jock suits up, ready to make the dive under ‘Free’.

I was grateful not to be making the dive myself as it’s been a long time since my last one (over twenty years!). Jock is a marine engineer, so who better to be diving for an examination?

In he goes!

In he goes!

As Jock disappeared below the water, I felt every second pass by. Would everything be okay, or would he be shaking his head like a used car salesman? Eventually after what felt like an eternity, he surfaced, holding a surprisingly long piece of rope.

Jock provides the last remaining piece of evidence... I didn't expect there to be so much still on the prop shaft!

Jock provides the last remaining piece of evidence… I didn’t expect there to be so much still on the prop shaft!

I can only say to Jock and the guys at the BKYC, thank you so much for your help and hospitality; a little oasis of sanity in the middle of a crazy month! Now I can continue my voyage, knowing at least, that any mechanical problems will now be confined to the engine room where I can hopefully access them.

But wouldn’t it be nice to have some trouble-free sailing now?

I wish you all warm sunshine and a lovely summer…

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How Long is a piece of string?

  1. Lynda and tony smith says:

    Ok Poppy. First things first. Tony is a used car salesman and as far as I know, never shook his head!!! Anyway, glad t hear the good news. Lets hope it’s all p,ain sailing fro. Here on in! Xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Err… sowwy!!! I think that sometimes if they see a woman coming they tend to presume no knowledge etc… Obviously not all and not your Tony! It could be any ‘I know everything’ sort. And there is no such thing as plain sailing, only plane sailing… Always cautious and ready for the unexpected! I’m sure you know this better than anyone sailing in the Med! Thanks for the good wishes.

  2. Michael Murphy says:

    Great to know there are some SOLID elements under you. The MARiNE ones have the right to be what they are.

    I hope you will enjoy a good month or so, before thinking of the Camino.

    Hear from you soon.

    I will tell you some sad news that happened a while ago (but you have had enough sad news).

    Yours, Mike

    • Viking Queen says:

      I couldn’t agree more. Marine is as it is, and I’m happy with that. Sad news? Now you have me worried Mike… Please let me know asap. Poppy.

  3. christian says:

    what a long wait it must have felt like waiting for jock to surface so happy for u and free that all is well and that u can carry on up the canal/sea. enjoy the next part of the journey
    Cx

  4. Viking Queen says:

    Thanks Chris… Leaving in about an hour, with a gentle nnw wind. Should be able to sail the whole distance to Fehman Island.

  5. Judith Brenchley says:

    Dear Poppy, I’ve read all your Sagas with bated breath – like reading a good novel – you do write well. Were all your recent troubles really rope caught round the propellor? Did you get the engine mountings repaired? I’m so pleased for you that you can now continue your journey. I know I’ve not sent you any comments but at one point I felt you wouldn’t be happy back on land; your place is truly on your boat Free. Somewhere you wrote one must live life to the full and take chances. I read a lot of your letters to Tarek – he is very interested in your journey, and thinks Free looks so small, as do I. He agreed fully about taking chances and wants me tolive peramentlyin Egypt. It’s just a pity it’s so hot – lower 40s in the summer. He should finish the building ofthe block of flats (near ish the Nile) and I think he has buyers for two of them, which is good. I look forward to any more Sagas you send to all your friends. Good sailing et bon voyage. Love from Judy

    ________________________________

    • Viking Queen says:

      Thanks my fellow adventuress! Alas no, I hit the bottom badly in Helgoland… that’s the cause. The rope was a special gift, thrown in just in case i got cocky! I obviously didn’t have enough problems already;0)

  6. lulu says:

    Excellent news, what a relief for you. Please continue to bombard us, it’s a fascinating journey you are making. Despite the unwelcome cost it must be a good feeling to know the mechanics have been thoroughly checked and repaired to a high standard. I’ve found the impetus to work on Bouboulina;, a thorough hull scrape and several coats of epoxy before antifouling. It was an unwelcome job but I’m happy to know it’s done now. Installing a lovely new sea toilet too 🙂 those of you (ladies) who sail will know how important a working inside loo is! no more buckets and chuck its for me, lol. All the best Poppy, keep us posted. xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Are you back in the Sapphire islands Lu? Thought Boubou was gone… So glad you have her still! Therapy for any broken heart! Px

  7. Simona says:

    What a relief! I’m very pleased for you and ‘Free’. May your partnership last for a long time to come.

    Let us all know when you’ve got safely to your next destination.

    Simona x

  8. Poppy, Loud cheers! Keep up the good work and spirits,Bon voyage , good sun, fair winds and all you need to
    continue to impress us all with your terrific determination to keep onwards!
    Don’t stop writing!
    Love, Ruth

  9. Viking Queen says:

    Just to say thanks for all your support. Just arrived in Wismar.

Leave a Reply

