The last piece of the jigsaw.

Here it is…

Here is the document that keeps me free.

Here is the document that keeps me free.

This little document is of major importance to me as it allows me to sail for the Baltic under the protection of the Swedish Cruising Club. It is rated as an International Certificate and it is… Freedom.

And so it is tot ziens to Amsterdam, tomorrow morning which marks the beginning of my lifelong dream to sail to the Baltic and the lands of the Vikings!

But what of this beautiful city and the tough winter?

Well, I can’t begin to name the wonderful folk I have met here, who supported me so much in a real roller-coaster of a winter. I will try to name some though…

From Starbucks, those wonderful baristas who sheltered me during those freezing days. Christo’s wonderful team with their upbeat enthusiasm and willingness to help cheer me up. My special friends, Carro and Danne from Sweden, Penny and David from England, Ursul from Rietpol, Wim at ‘Het Yacht’; the list is endless…

But not just in Amsterdam… Back in those dark early days when my life had been rocked into fragments by a certain German gentleman who wasn’t so gentle; those of you who kept writing and didn’t turn their backs… Christian, Mike, Simona, Christine, Lucy, have been a crucial part of not feeling so alone when the darkness seemed to be so all-enveloping.

The call of the North is in my heart and I must admit to being nervous as this is new sailing ground for me. So it will have to be some more Viking spleen and just sheer nerve to push my limits yet again.

I hope some day to be able to reflect on these days with pride and gratitude, telling myself that it was a life well lived with courage and truth. Only time will tell…

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The last piece of the jigsaw.

  1. Michael Murphy says:

    Glad you have that “permission”, Poppy.

    The wind has turned…

    Yours, Mike

  2. Lynda Hulme says:

    Hiya Poppy, Sorry not to have been in touch recently. I’ve been backwards and forwards to the Uk these last few months. However, now enconced in Sardinia. Well at least until next Wednesday when I’m off back to the Uk for 10 days. Anyway………………………..nice to hear that you are at last realising your dream. Good for you sweetheart. Keep the posts coming. Much love – Tony and Lynda xxx

  3. ruth.harte1@btinternet.com says:

    Dear Poppy, Great news and AT Last I’ve got a response on this machine to tell you! You know how ham fisted I am about 21st Century machines! May your sailing with Free be calm and thrilling about the new territory and may all your dreams come about under the Swedish CC. Good winds and weather be yours as well as good food and havens. I’ll leave the heavens in other hands. I shall miss seeing you on these shores but please keep the news flowing,you know I’m really interested about all you do. By the way, I had a cousin here at Easter who read your book and was enthralled by it,asking me to tell you so. It’s next on my pile to read. But what is the Eagle in the title? All possible summer sailing,joy and satisfaction be ahead for you and with love as ever, Ruth Hope this reaches you sometime!

    From: A Viking Saga DPoppySent: Friday, May 03, 2013 4:08 PM To: ruth.harte1@btinternet.com Subject: [New post] The last piece of the jigsaw.

    Viking Queen posted: “Here it is… This little document is of major importance to me as it allows me to sail for the Baltic under the protection of the Swedish Cruising Club. It is rated as an International Certificate and it is… Freedom. And so it is tot ziens to”

  4. Christine says:

    Grant yourself pride and gratitude right now Poppy. You would never have got this far without courage and truth.
    The sun is shining, you have your ticket to freedom….sail away Viking Queen, today begins your Baltic dream.
    Love Light and Fair Winds,
    Christine xx

  5. rollinwithcarro says:

    Have the greatest trip of all time and at any time you need some Swedish viking tips, give me a shout. I be around 🙂

  6. christian says:

    ditto to what christine as written above – it is your golden ticket just like charlie and the chocolate factory, enjoy – sail safe and let free take care of you and you her.
    Cx

  7. Christo Sonnekus says:

    Dear Poppy,

    Thank you for always being so upbeat and friendly to everyone at the store! We have grown accustomed to having you in the store everyday, that it seems really strange not having you there! Yesterday we sat at lunch and discussed how weird it is not having you pop in! Please know that when ever you are in Amsterdam, we will have your tall drip coffee with steamed skimmed milk ready!! :-). Have loads of fun on this journey and please look after yourself! We will miss you stacks! Please stay in touch! Untill we meet again…happy sailing!!

    Beat regards,

    Christo

  8. Viking Queen says:

    Miss you guys too, Christo! How lovely to tell me all this… You all helped me so much when I was freezing cold.. Love to Anita and the gang!!! Px

Leave a Reply

