A Friendly, Freezing, February!

Forgive me for the corny alliteration… I do like to play with words sometimes!

Busy, busy, busy! That’s how February has panned out. Visits from special friends plus a brief visit to Lille in France… and all of it in the midst of freezing, high pressure winter weather.

This of course means guests sleeping in the ‘fridge’, that is my boat over night! James and Tara were first to arrive and adapted expertly due to their narrowboat experience on the Thames in England. They are used to ‘roughing it’ so no problems there!

Tara and James on 'Free'. No problem adapting to living on the 'North Pole'!

Tara and James on ‘Free’. No problem adapting to living on the ‘North Pole’!

It can be difficult spending too long outside when all is freezing, but ‘Free’ is left alone during the day, while seeking refuge in a cafe somewhere. Mr Starbucks may be avoiding taxes in the UK but he’s footing my heating bill during the day!!!

Tara and James enjoyed their stay in this wonderful city, and treated me to a pizza out in town, a really nice surprise and change from my normal peasant-like diet.

A special treat... Pizza in town!

A special treat… Pizza in town!

All good things come to an end and soon it was time for my two young friends to fly back to their own Narrowboat home.

However, no sooner had they left than my old friend Michael arrived. We have known each other a long time and he lives in Lille, Northern France. The following day, his son Michael joined us, but my fear that they would be too cold soon disappeared as they proved to be made of sterner stuff!

The two Michaels... father and son, enjoying Amsterdam.

The two Michaels… father and son, enjoying Amsterdam.

As you know, I am particularly interested in slightly more offbeat material and both Mike and I were fascinated by the strange clock on the facade of Amsterdam Centraal Station. On the first examination, one may be forgiven for presuming it to be a time piece of sorts… an elegant piece; however, further observation reveals extraordinary Dutch eccentricity… It measures wind direction! Great for me, but probably useless for everyone else!

Michael stands beneath the strange and wonderful wind clock on Centraal Station. It’s North Easterly O’Clock!

Soon it was time for departure, but this time I left too, returning to spend some time in the beautiful city of Lille for a few days. The coach rolled across the Netherlands and Flanders, mile after flat mile, and yet the shear apparent monotony of the landscape intrigues me somewhat. The whole journey has an almost meditative quality and I love watching how the French and Flemish language place names define this part of Northern Europe.

French eccentricity at its wonderful best! Lille's bizarre upside-down house!

French eccentricity at its wonderful best! Lille’s bizarre upside-down house!

Being a sailor has exposed me to a very European view of life, and much that I love ‘Fair Albion’, I enjoy the multi-lingual, busy and diverse nature of Europe more. I would confess to being a European firstly, for much of my life has been semi nomadic in nature and I have flirted with many languages over the years. By European, I mean the open nature of and the feeling of togetherness… celebrating differences and respecting the beauty and uniqueness of our amazing continent. I certainly don’t mean the stifling impact of Brussels.

John Lennon’s ‘Imagine’ comes to mind… Isn’t it better to try and work together than feud and argue apart? The world is beautiful and tragic and it’s up to us to change ourselves and evolve. Maybe the birth pangs of a new Europe are just the beginning of a new dawn…

I pray that it is so.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Friendly, Freezing, February!

  1. Christian says:

    for your information poppy it’s called ” Fallen from the sky” house, a free exhibiton by artist Jean-Francois Fourtou- you get in by a side window and everything is upside down.
    re wind clock -too true where ever you visit you should always look up as so much is missed, look at the lovely details just in the background of the photo.
    C

    • Viking Queen says:

      When I’m famous and all grown up… you can have a job on my archive team, Chris!!!
      Head of Research! I’m too lazy to find out stuff!

Leave a Reply

