Two true Vikings…

Caroline and Dan... True Vikings!

Caroline and Dan… True Vikings!

I have been told that I am brave…

Friends have followed my voyages and my path, inspired by the great Viking sailors. They have been kind in their words, perhaps giving me more credit than I deserve.

However, I want to tell you a true story of real bravery that I have discovered here at Sixhaven, Amsterdam.

I met two Swedish sailors, Dan and Caroline, who live on their boat, ‘Happy Six’ here, and have had a similar path to me, in that they bought her in the Mediterranean. Like me, they have been voyaging slowly north back towards Scandinavia.

So what, you may ask?

Well Dan has leukaemia, that’s what…

Down below with Dan and Caroline on their boat 'Happy Six'.

Down below with Dan and Caroline on their boat ‘Happy Six’.

And did he give up and mope around, drowning in self pity? Did he stay at home, slowly succumbing to the worst news a human being can receive?

No chance…

He and Caroline decided to grab life by the horns and live it with bollocks. They took to the high seas and continue to live life as it was meant to be… with courage, determination and great joy! It would have been so easy to wallow in despair, but as I sat with them in their saloon listening to their story, I was overwhelmed and truly humbled.

I was in the presence of two real Vikings, courageous, laughing, alive and full of enthusiasm.

I made my way back to ‘Free’ after saying good night, and as I lay awake in the icy stillness, listening to the wind moaning through my shrouds, I marvelled at the privilege of meeting such an inspirational couple. Certainly it wakes you up to the whole reason we are here on this planet… to the question, “What’s it all about?”

But if you know me, you won’t need an answer to that, will you?

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two true Vikings…

  1. lulu says:

    Cool story. I finished your book Poppy, I really enjoyed it, couldn’t put it down. Well done!
    luvya
    Lucy xxxxxxxx

  2. Shanta says:

    What an amazing story Poppy, thank you for sharing and keeping me inspired! xx

  3. Viking Queen says:

    You are welcome! Thanks for the feedback! P

  4. Ko Boos says:

    Some words, Viking Queen,

    to inform you about a sad tragedy occuring to Dan and Caroline, the Swedish couple sailing their boat ‘Happy Six’.

    Maybe you allready know.

    If not, and you’re interested, I can tell you some details by PM via my Facebook-account http://www.facebook.com/koboos.
    (wearing yellow jacket on profile-picture).

    • Viking Queen says:

      I do know Ko.. Thanks for the message. She is the reason I am in Sweden right now as her uncle is my friend here. Sad news for sure.

Leave a Reply

