Feline felicitations from Catford!

As previously mentioned, I am fascinated by the slightly, obscure and offbeat. So having been here in Catford for a short while in the midst of this pagan festival of Christmas, I thought I would share some discoveries…

The name apparently derives from Anglo-Saxon times, referring to the place where wild cats or cattle crossed over the River Ravensbourne. I’m not going to bore you by regurgitating information from Google or Wikipedia… anyone could do that if they had nothing more important to do with their lives. No, I’m hunting for something else.

The Catford Cat is a real scary monster as you can see in the picture below, even though it is only made from fibreglass. It dwarfs the shopping centre and I love it! Only in England…

Image

Scary monsters!

Despite being affected by the riots of 2011, Catford is quite a pleasant place, providing you don’t have an attitude. I’ve only seen one fight so far and I have found a delightful cafe to write and ruminate in.

Image

The Appetito cafe behind the curious pipe structure.

I was made really welcome in this cafe by Angela and Nick and it has become my haunt until returning to Amsterdam later in January. They always have a smile and work tirelessly, producing wonderful coffee!

Angela and Nick at the Cafe Appetiito.

Angela and Nick at the Cafe Appetito.

Apart from caring for Oliver, my days have alternated between working in Catford Library, frequenting Appetito, and wearing in my new walking boots in preparation for a pilgrimage I would like to do next September. I have walked quite regularly into Central London from here and it really puts you in communication with ordinary folk. The blisters are slowly fading now and soon these boots will be ready for the serious business of Northern Spain and the mountains.

Finally, may I draw your attention to this… ‘Waterline.’ the incredible pipe sculpture outside Appetito. I was interested in this and decided to photograph the plaque beneath. Now you are all (if still awake) far wiser about this little known part of South London and as they may say around here…

Image

Amazing information about a little known South London sculpture!

“Wot a lot for not a lot!’

Well… back to your festivities and good wishes from Oliver and I.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feline felicitations from Catford!

  1. lulu says:

    Interesting stuff indeed, as I’ve never been there I would’ve written Catford off as just another souless saaf London suburb. Thanks for breathing some soul back into it.
    Wishing you a very merry Christmas and a wonderfully happy New year
    many x’s
    Lucy xxx

  2. Viking Queen says:

    Bless you Lucy. I hope you and Nikos have a good one! Px

  3. christian says:

    as always wonderful highlights as to what one can see or find, bet not many people in Catford know what the pipes are there for or the history, Sending and wishing you all the best of the season. C x

Leave a Reply

