‘Deep and crisp and even’.

'Deep and crisp and even'.

Well here it is… the first serious snow of Winter and still only the sixth of December!

Sixhaven lies beneath a crisp white blanket and the roof of Centraal Station can be seen in the background. Today, kind neighbours of mine from Birmingham are going to drive into Zaandam nearby where they sell good old red diesel at one euro per litre. They are my saviours and have offered to help me carry some back.

Penny and David have become friends since meeting them a few weeks ago; it’s a shame they don’t live permanently on board, as they spend most of their time back in England. Much more sensible than me!

Well, every little helps as they say… and maybe there is a light at the end of this freezing tunnel. I haven’t noticed any of the locals stepping up and helping. Their major contribution has been to forbid the use of ‘Bilbo’ my wood burner. I hope their family Christmases are going to be warmer than mine.

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Deep and crisp and even’.

  1. Lynda and Tony says:

    Hi you crazy Viking Queen You! We hope that by now you’ve got your winter heating sorted out. I always thought the Dutch were a friendly, helpful lot. Obviously some arn’t! Although we don’t have snow here in the south of Sardinia, its bloomin’ cold right now. We’re having an easterly wind and I think its blowing all of Siberia here! No more days out on the boat now. Tony will be taking her out of the water within the next few weeks and doing minor repairs. What are you doing for Christmas? We’re having friends round for Christmas lunch and so I’ve to start looking at menus over the next few days to decide what I’m going to make. Decisions, decisions! I’m really missing my family this year – my daughters and grandchildren and my sisters too. Still, I’ll be going back some time early next year for a couple of weeks I expect. We put all our Christmas decorations up this week and the tree looks lovely. Saffy (our cat) just loves playing with the hanging baubles whilst Molly looks on in disgust! Ok my likkle luv. Keep safe and warm. Lots of love from us both. Tony and Lynda xxxx

  2. Viking Queen says:

    You too! Buon Natale xx

  3. Lynda and Tony says:

    Blimey woman, you are just soooooooooooooo bilinguale, you amaze me and him! xxxxx

  4. Viking Queen says:

    Ik weet het! Maar Nederlands is heel moeilijk! xxxxxx

  5. Viking Queen says:

    roughly… ‘I know it… but Dutch is very difficult!’
    Well you were polishing my ego… so I thought `i’d show off!!!!! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

