Pride of the ‘Noord’

I don’t give a toss about the touristy places… The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, the ‘Red Light District’ etc…

No, it is the little things that interest me most and that is what I want to write about during my stay in Amsterdam. I am not a tourist… I am a traveller, a sailor, an itinerant writer and poet. The small things, the real people of this fair city are what I want to see.

On a continued slightly unusual theme, there is a difference between the North and the South of Amsterdam, something not really known by tourists.

The North has its own flag... A red heart on a white background.

The North has its own flag… A red heart on a white background.

I became aware of it during my stay here at Sixhaven due to the fact that we are in the ‘Noord’. The folk who live here are quite proud of the fact and even have their own flag as you can see in the above picture. It is a red heart on a white background.

The cafe is called Al Ponte and serves delicious Italian coffee, so if you miss the ferry across to the south… you can still enjoy the ‘Pride of the Noord’!

Wij houden van het Noorden! (we love the North)

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

