A Geordie sailing bum’s day in the Toon…

So…

It all starts in the morning by taking the free ferry across from Ijplein in Noord Amsterdam with all the other Amsterdammers. I wish the Tyne was as busy or vibrant as the Dam. I remember as a child crossing the Tyne from Hebburn to Wallsend with my Grandpa to Hawthorn Leslie, shipbuilders, where he worked. What the hell happened? When I see Amsterdam I can only assumed that London Government was at work here and had more than a hand in destroying my beloved river.

Image

The free ferry from Ijplein in North Amsterdam to Centraal Station.

I spend my day looking for places to write and keep warm. This way I can keep down my heating costs. My favourite working environment is ‘Tony’s NY City Bagels’ on Jodenbreestraat near Waterlooplein. The girls are friendly and allow me to spend as much time as I want, writing and dreaming.

Image

’Tony’s’, my favourite writing place in Jodenbreestraat. Great coffee and staff!

At the ripe old age of fifty five, I sit in the window enjoying early retirement, terrified about being broke and not really giving a damn! One thing about Amsterdam that reminds me of the North East is the cold… It’s like South Shields in Summer at the moment! Chilly, bright, with a biting easterly wind. However, I’m still not wearing a coat like everyone else, because I’m hard, me!!! I’m a Geordie, right? Viking stock!

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Geordie sailing bum’s day in the Toon…

  1. archecotech says:

    So this is where it all began. Broke happens, being enriched lasts a lifetime.

    • Viking Queen says:

      Yes, all things come to an end. I suppose that being aware of this impermanence at an early age helps one to take risks. It was still difficult though. The illusion of comfort blocks the truth…

Leave a Reply

