A sailing life

Sailing on the Markermeer.

I think that I’m better under sail than on a computer, but my technical ineptitude has contributed to the destruction of my previous website, and several emotional issues besides.

Those of you who have stood by me throughout a scary, emotional few weeks; in which my world has been turned on its head, know who you are, and I do hope you will drop in from time to time.

In the mean time, I will try to survive the bleak winter here in Amsterdam!

About Viking Queen

I am a sailor and I live on my boat 'Free'. I have no home but originate from Tyneside. I have no allegiance, just a desire to do no harm and live with courage and an open heart.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A sailing life

  1. vrijheit says:

    Great Start – I guess i´ll have some shiny moments here.
    Take the time you need and keep your wise open heart.

  2. Lynda and Tony says:

    Hiya Poppy. Forgive my absence of a couple of weeks. I’ve been back to the UK and prior to that had my sister here in Sardinia. I did think of you often though! Oooooh,, it was just so good to get back home (to Sardinia) to all the peace and quiet that goes with living in a rural community (how DOES one spell rural?) Of course it was wonderful to be back with Tony and the animals again too! Although I’m not too sure about Molly as we’ve just returned from a lovely long walk along the cliff tops where she rubbed herself all over in sheep shit! Soooooo, it was straight into the shower when we got back and she’s now sitting on the rug smelling of roses again! Oh, the joy of owning animals.
    Poppy, I still don’t understand why you felt you had to re-name Free? Please explain to me (although I must admit I do like the name Geordie!) Whats Holland like at this time of the year? What are your plans for Christmas sweetheart? How’s your heart doing?
    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    All our love

    Lynda and Tony. xxxx

    • Viking Queen says:

      Glad you had a great time in England! Haven’t renamed her yet…
      Big developments and a lot of water under the bridge.
      Heart is fine but it bloody wet here and cold and…… not allowed to use my wood burner in the marina!!!
      Christmas? I’ll settle on the next day!
      Wonderful to hear from you… and don’t worry I knew you were back in Blighty.

  3. Penelope says:

    Poppy, I do hope you are nice and cosy on your tub now. Amsterdam is wonderful in the wintertime! We will be back very soon. Tot ziens.

    • Viking Queen says:

      My tub, Penny?!!!

      She’s a pedigree motorsailer! (well alright, she’s a bit old, but a fine vessel nonetheless!
      Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  4. Simon de Groot says:

    Hey….keep warm kid….even if it means spending all day in Mac’s ….(dread the thought…maybe the Riijksmuseum would be more convivial……new blog’s looking good with nice layout…..voorzichtig kind!…..Simon x

    • Viking Queen says:

      Will do Si…
      New heatpol now installed at horrific price but it had to be done!
      Ik hoop alles goed met jou. Hoe is de weer? Hier is goed maar altijd regen in Amsterdam… slecht!
      Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

